Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-15-2015, 11:14 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 5
Plugging into house power

Newbie here. My wife and I will be staying at my son's house for a week or so. We'll be in the drive way. My question is, can I run my air conditioner and other appliances using 15/20 amp circuit? The outlet is approx. 40' away and I'll be using a a 15 amp extension cord.

Thanks
Vince
__________________

__________________
retired2010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2015, 11:19 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Pincher Creek, AB
Posts: 295
The A/C would be a stretch with the fridge on shore power too.. I know my A/C and fridge on my garage plug (15 amp duplex GFI protected) will cause it to trip, and that is with my trailer's power cord plugged in to the adapter with no extension cord..

What size wire does a "15 amp extension cord" use? (ie.. Cheapy orange one, or a heavier duty one).. This will impact the voltage drop to your TT..
__________________

__________________
Camped: 2017 (Days/Nights) - 30/25
2016 (Days/Nights) - 32/23, 2015 Nights - 29

TT: 2013 26' Revere TBQB
TV: 2014 GMC Sierra 1500 Z71 4x4
glen1971 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2015, 11:28 AM   #3
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 15,024
Quote:
Originally Posted by retired2010 View Post
Newbie here. My wife and I will be staying at my son's house for a week or so. We'll be in the drive way. My question is, can I run my air conditioner and other appliances using 15/20 amp circuit? The outlet is approx. 40' away and I'll be using a a 15 amp extension cord.

Thanks
Vince
Hello Vince, we're all newbies at one time. These articles by Mark Polk may help you understand your electrical systems and why you probably will not want to use the air-conditioner with your driveway setup. He touches on that same scenario you asked about (15/20 amp outlets and the size of the extension cord) in both articles below.


Basic RV Electricity - RV Information (RV Maintenance)

More On Basic RV Electricity - RV Information (RV Maintenance)

and it's also good to understand your converters purpose and the amps it can use:

http://rvservices.koa.com/rvinformat...d-amp-draw.asp
__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

Ducks are just all-terrain chickens
wmtire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2015, 11:30 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Crockett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 833
Might as well get an RV cord and a bakalite adapter. Run your fridge on gas...minimize appliance use for the sake of the AC
__________________
Crockett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2015, 11:39 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Waynesville
Posts: 12,019
Quote:
Originally Posted by retired2010 View Post
Newbie here. My wife and I will be staying at my son's house for a week or so. We'll be in the drive way. My question is, can I run my air conditioner and other appliances using 15/20 amp circuit? The outlet is approx. 40' away and I'll be using a a 15 amp extension cord.

Thanks
Vince
The answer is (NO) on the A/C with a 15A EX cord! Youroo!!
__________________
youroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2015, 11:40 AM   #6
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Very, very rarely is any household outlet 20 amp.
And if it is it will have one plug sideways or a "duel" outlet with both 15 and 20 amp configurations.

TURBS
08 duramax tuned n modded, 32bhok Sabre
2015 camping "2 nights"
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2015, 11:44 AM   #7
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Here's the difference.
Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1429112503034.jpg
Views:	165
Size:	18.9 KB
ID:	74316

With that being said you'll likely only have 15 amps available.

A/c requires up to 18 amps to start up then runs closer to 12 amps.

Converter can draw from 1 to 8 amps.

A/c 12 amps
Converter @ min 2 amps

Your @ 14 amps not including the electrical loss in a 40' run 15 amp cord

This will help.

normal appliance amp draws

TURBS
08 duramax tuned n modded, 32bhok Sabre
2015 camping "2 nights"
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2015, 11:55 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Crockett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 833
What are your options? Take the car and sleep on the couch? You can always jury rig a 30 amp plug if necessary. Just take the coach and try it. The AC on low doesnt draw as much. 12 amps is more like a max draw. Try it and let us know...
__________________
Crockett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2015, 12:01 PM   #9
Average Joe
 
MrJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Mechanicsville, MD
Posts: 689
I have been plugged into a dedicated 20 amp with no extension cord for a couple years. I can run the A/C, fridge and converter, but little else. I shut off the A/C when I need the microwave or coffee pot. I couldn't imagine trying a 15 amp circuit with an extension cord. Especially if it wasn't dedicated.


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
__________________
Joe and Karen
2014 Sunseeker 2450sf

Southern Maryland and Beyond!

MrJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2015, 12:04 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 5
Thanks to everyone who replied. Guess the wife isn't gonna be happy without AC.
__________________

__________________
retired2010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
power

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:38 AM.