View Poll Results: How many dometic 15k units have you had replaced?
One 11 25.00%
Two 3 6.82%
Three 1 2.27%
Four 0 0%
Five 0 0%
More then 6 0 0%
Zero 29 65.91%
Voters: 44. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-01-2016, 10:25 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
northstar1960's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: in my new 29hfsxlr
Posts: 1,538
it's obvious they had more then one bad batch of units . guess when they try to save a buck and have them made in Mexico we end up with a low quality product at a high price . they should don't pass along the savings from the cheap Mexican labor and cheap Mexican parts
__________________

__________________
northstar1960 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2016, 02:11 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Albany, GA.
Posts: 631
In a letter to Dometic factory authorized service techs Dometic has admitted that the evaporator coil on the 15K units were made in China
__________________

__________________
Thurman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2016, 02:31 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
northstar1960's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: in my new 29hfsxlr
Posts: 1,538
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thurman View Post
In a letter to Dometic factory authorized service techs Dometic has admitted that the evaporator coil on the 15K units were made in China
We got a notice last winter at CW about a bad batch from Mexico . this has been going on a long time
__________________
northstar1960 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2016, 09:42 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 1,114
Zero replacements or repairs.

Our Dometic 15,000 BTU/hr A/C heat pump hasn't missed a beat for over 5 years and over 450 nights camping, plus many days and nights in the driveway while getting ready for trips, cleaning after trips, or doing maintenance. We have run it in weather from freezing rain to 104 F in full sun in the desert.
__________________
RamblerGuy
2011 Sunseeker 3100
1997 Pathfinder Toad
RamblerGuy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2016, 09:37 AM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Albany, GA.
Posts: 631
"Ramblerguy": I'm glad that you have had no problems from your Dometic unit. But, being as it is at least five years old that would put that particular unit outside the time frame of the Dometic 15K's problem(s). My understanding is that the affected units were manufactured sometime late 2014. Dometic has not, to my knowledge, put out any printed info on this problem nor have they responded to my multiple e-mails as to this problem.
__________________
Thurman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2016, 10:06 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 101
My 2014 Çedar Creek ckts 15,000 AC is dead. It acted up (quit working) in mid July while at the beach. When I got it home it started cooling again. Last month it stopped cooling again. Service technician said there was no refrigerant in the unit. New unit enroute. Thank goodness for aftermarket extended warranty.
__________________
dkelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2016, 05:17 PM   #17
Member
 
Robs1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 89
Ours didn't work first time our we were told they have about 20,000 units with bad start capacitors


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
__________________
Robs1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2016, 05:24 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Ozark,Mo
Posts: 119
bad acs

2015 Montana no probems as yet
__________________
martin73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2016, 06:27 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
northstar1960's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: in my new 29hfsxlr
Posts: 1,538
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robs1968 View Post
Ours didn't work first time our we were told they have about 20,000 units with bad start capacitors


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
Bad start capacitors would be a different issue then the issues they have had the the refrigerant leaking out . just a capacitor can be replaced without replacing the whole upper unit
__________________
northstar1960 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2016, 08:55 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 34
Has the same problem been going on with the 13500 unit
__________________

__________________
scott_silverside is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dometic

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:37 PM.