Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-13-2016, 03:31 PM   #1

Portable 120v Heater?

Can I use a portable 120v electric heater when hooked up to city power instead of using my trailer heater and using up propane? The portable has 2 settings, 800 watts and 1100 watts. I'm not an electrician but I know these little puppies pull some serious juice. Is it safe? Will I blow a fuse?
Thank you,
Ted
tgduffy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2016, 03:37 PM   #2
Always Learning

We do it all of the time. You should be fine. Just be aware of what else is on the circuit and how much power you use in total for the camper.
Old 05-13-2016, 03:39 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by tgduffy View Post
Can I use a portable 120v electric heater when hooked up to city power instead of using my trailer heater and using up propane? The portable has 2 settings, 800 watts and 1100 watts. I'm not an electrician but I know these little puppies pull some serious juice. Is it safe? Will I blow a fuse?
Thank you,
Ted
yes you can, I've removed our propane altogether and we use two 120v heaters when needed

fella10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2016, 03:40 PM   #4
Site Team

I assume you have a stock TT so you have 30A service. You can run the small heater at the 1500W (Hi) level and you have about 12A left as your converter will use several amps charging the Battery and powering the fridge control board. If you run the WH on electric that is about your limit. You will not be able to run the microwave, a coffee maker, hair dryer or other high current item without turning it off.

2015 Freedom Express 248RBS
TV 2015 Silverado HD2500 Duramax
TST Tire Monitors
Honda 2000I + Companion
2 100W solar panels
Flybob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2016, 04:07 PM   #5
Site Team

Quote:
Thank you,
Ted