Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-15-2013, 08:07 PM   #11
GC
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ohio
Posts: 43
Thanks for replies. Sounds like it would be streching it.
__________________

__________________
GC
garycarson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 08:16 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Stank Bait's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: NE Florida
Posts: 177
I left my frig running on gas Saturday, coming back the next Tuesday to stay through Thanksgiving so I left the frig on. Did not connect the 12v fans. Have two batteries that were fully charged by generators except for pulling in slides. The interior battery switch was on and the carbon monoxide / propane light was on. That is all. Tuesday afternoon when I returned the slide was very slow to open. Did not think it would open it was so slow. Hooked up generators to open other slide. I have left it for a month and never a problem with the battery switches off. Jack & slides worked well. Will look into installing a switch to cut off the carbon monoxide/ propane detector. I was surprised how low the batteries were. My batteries without a power show 2/3 on the indicator. Full with generator or shore power. What readings are normal with a full battery without external power? if it is to the full light normally on battery, I may have a problem.
__________________

__________________
2013 Flagstaff 831FKBSS
Stank Bait is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 08:27 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
raspivey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Brazoria County, Texas
Posts: 1,362
Ignore the battery indicator, they're worthless. From what I can tell, Full = charging / hooked up, 2/3 = anywhere between full and over discharged, and 1/3 = you're hurting your battery badly. You don't have a problem, that sounds about right. CO, fridge, probably radio standby if you have one....it'll hit you harder than you think. Don't leave those batteries discharged like that for any length of time if you can at all help it.
__________________
2015 Chevy Silverado LTZ - HD tow package
2017 Rockwood 2703WS Emerald Edition
raspivey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 09:01 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 7,635
I would cut the power to both your C/O with a spst switch just install between the wirier also pull the fuse for the radio or install another spst for that. It also sounds that you were not up to full charge. If you are using your converter to charge you probably only got up to 3/4 charge anyway. If you are going to this all the time, I would go with a progressive convertor with the wizard. Then you know that you will charge to 100%. Do you have a WFCO, if you do throw it away. Also check your water level in your battery's.
__________________
Rockwood #8289 WS 2012
F250 6.0 / Husky 16k
With 4 point leveling system
Witch Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2013, 06:41 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Stank Bait's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: NE Florida
Posts: 177
The generators had run all night because I was running the AC but they were off during the day since I was out and about. Guess there was more time without shore power than just when I left. I have checked the water several times and it never needed but a small amount. Will see about installing a switch for the detector and the radio. Never have understood why they put the stuff down on the floor. I keep a small flashlight close by just to see the panel and the switches. Looked at the Inteli-Power 55 Amp Converter/Charger Model #PD4655V web page which seems to be a direct replacement for the WFCO 55 amp. Would that one handle two batteries? The page was lacking in specifics about that. My trolling motor charger (Dual Pro) is only 15 amps per battery so I suppose 55 for two is plenty. The Wizard is built into the replacement. Not looking forward to crawling around on the floor. Too cheap to pay some goober to do it for me and screw something up. Thanks for the suggestions.
__________________
2013 Flagstaff 831FKBSS
Stank Bait is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2013, 03:47 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 7,635
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stank Bait View Post
The generators had run all night because I was running the AC but they were off during the day since I was out and about. Guess there was more time without shore power than just when I left. I have checked the water several times and it never needed but a small amount. Will see about installing a switch for the detector and the radio. Never have understood why they put the stuff down on the floor. I keep a small flashlight close by just to see the panel and the switches. Looked at the Inteli-Power 55 Amp Converter/Charger Model #PD4655V web page which seems to be a direct replacement for the WFCO 55 amp. Would that one handle two batteries? The page was lacking in specifics about that. My trolling motor charger (Dual Pro) is only 15 amps per battery so I suppose 55 for two is plenty. The Wizard is built into the replacement. Not looking forward to crawling around on the floor. Too cheap to pay some goober to do it for me and screw something up. Thanks for the suggestions.
That's the same one I put in, you will love it. Easy to replace fits right in you will see and here the difference. I also have 2 batteries no problem at all. It also has 2 cooling fans. You can't even here them at all when running. you press the wizard button and it will start at 14.4 til 80% then drop to 13.6 til full charged then drop to 13.2 float. Every 21 hrs it will go into the 4th stage desalination at 14.4 for 15 mins. It's a true 4 stage charger. That WFCO is garbage..in comparison.........
__________________
Rockwood #8289 WS 2012
F250 6.0 / Husky 16k
With 4 point leveling system
Witch Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2013, 06:04 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
Stank Bait's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: NE Florida
Posts: 177
What is the deal with the pendant? Is that just something that takes the place of the Wizard Mode Button, moves it to another location so you don't have to crawl on the floor to get to it?
__________________
2013 Flagstaff 831FKBSS
Stank Bait is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2013, 08:31 AM   #18
Senior Member
 
Great Horned Owl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Lake County, Illinois
Posts: 301
You could set up a small solar charger.

Joel
__________________
2011 Silverado 2500HD Duramax, 4x4, crew cab, long bed
Palomino Puma 253-FBS, 27' 5th wheel
1994 19' Class B on Chevy chassis
Great Horned Owl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2013, 09:51 AM   #19
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 7,635
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stank Bait View Post
What is the deal with the pendant? Is that just something that takes the place of the Wizard Mode Button, moves it to another location so you don't have to crawl on the floor to get to it?
Yes the pendent comes with another unit that will not fit in your WFCO space. When you change the board our which is just transferring wires. The button is on top and you will see a green led light on top. Buy the number of flashes per minute tells you what mode your in. I use a plug in dc meter plugged into the cigarette lighter that gives me a constant read out. For 2 years I never seen it drop to 13.2V float until I changed units mine always read 13.6V with the WFCO. That boils your water out. once you install the unit press the wizard button it will do it's thing. It will start at 14.4 to 80% then drop to 13.6 til it's 100% then it will drop to 13.2 storage or float mode. You will not have to crawl on the floor once it's set, It will takecare of it self. You can put in 14.4 charge mode if you think it needs it but the direction state let it alone and it will do it's job. It's a true 4 stage charger.
__________________
Rockwood #8289 WS 2012
F250 6.0 / Husky 16k
With 4 point leveling system
Witch Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2013, 11:37 AM   #20
Senior Member
 
Stank Bait's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: NE Florida
Posts: 177
I was thinking about putting a digital voltmeter in when I put in the switches. Great idea of using the lighter plug. Just did not think about that no matter how obvious it seems.
Never have had a problem with water boiling out. Guess my charger does not put out enough to ever do that. I will hook up a meter to it next time I am over there and see what is going on with the voltage. Thanks for the info. It helps.
__________________

__________________
2013 Flagstaff 831FKBSS
Stank Bait is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
battery, propane

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:03 AM.