Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-05-2015, 03:55 PM   #41
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: South West PA
Posts: 2,947
TRY, this link. I have done this procedure myself and it works.

New Dometic refrigerator problem - Page 2 - iRV2 Forums
__________________

__________________
grayfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2015, 06:04 PM   #42
Senior Member
 
Bogey3025's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 125
Thank you everyone! We will be addressing the repair this weekend. Thanks for all the support.
__________________

__________________
Bogey3025 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2015, 07:17 PM   #43
Senior Member
 
RPAspey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: central PA
Posts: 973
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crockett View Post
Im rolling with the humidity switch too. but please check back and let us know. when you do check back, it gives us feedback to do a better job with the next problem we face. this forum becomes a two way street, where we help one another mutually. it gives us closure and we sleep better at night. it gives us a response for the wife when they complain about all the time were wasting...lol
Boy ain't this the truth. I catch heck all the time!
__________________
2000 Cherokee 29BH with 6V batteries, LED lights & 400 watts of solar power, flipped axles and raised. 2007 Tundra 5.7L DC-LB with lots of mods. C-co, 8/158th AVN Maint.
RPAspey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2015, 08:15 PM   #44
Senior Member
 
Bogey3025's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 125
Weekend results:
Battery tested a little low when fully charged but the tech did not feel it need to be replaced. But we did..we switched the 12V to 2-6V. Checked the refrigerator and there does not appear to be an humidity control. We have a DM 2862. This week while at NASCAR we will see if the two 6V's can get us through the night. I hope so!!
__________________
Bogey3025 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2015, 08:52 PM   #45
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Pincher Creek, AB
Posts: 295
Bogey - Are you running your fridge on Battery or Propane? I know that our fridge would kill our batteries overnight if we lost propane and it switched to battery... We got so that was one of the first things we did in our old TT was switch it from Battery to Gas and make sure it lit... Usually we lit a burner on the stove first to make sure the air was out of the system first..
__________________
Camped: 2017 (Days/Nights) - 30/25
2016 (Days/Nights) - 32/23, 2015 Nights - 29

TT: 2013 26' Revere TBQB
TV: 2014 GMC Sierra 1500 Z71 4x4
glen1971 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2015, 09:11 PM   #46
Senior Member
 
Bogey3025's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 125
Propane...
We always do the same thing... Light the stove to get the gas moving👍
__________________
Bogey3025 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2015, 09:12 PM   #47
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: crete,il /texas
Posts: 384
i had thesame problem with the battery going dead overnite, i tried finding out what amp draw the frig has , to no availe, ambiet temp is a factor too, i didnt pursue it as most of the time im on shore power or towing,
__________________
Big Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2015, 12:00 AM   #48
Senior Member
 
Crockett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 833
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bogey3025 View Post
Weekend results:
Battery tested a little low when fully charged but the tech did not feel it need to be replaced. But we did..we switched the 12V to 2-6V. Checked the refrigerator and there does not appear to be an humidity control. We have a DM 2862. This week while at NASCAR we will see if the two 6V's can get us through the night. I hope so!!
i looked at what greyfox had to say...and checked that forum thread. then i went to the laurelhurst site to look at the schematic for myself and grey fox is dead ON...the heat strip picks up power before the interior light switch and grounds after the bulb. Its on all the time...BINGO!
__________________
Crockett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2015, 12:09 AM   #49
Senior Member
 
Bogey3025's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 125
We don't have a 2852, that switch is not available on our unit. And yes, that means it's on all the time..
__________________
Bogey3025 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2015, 12:28 AM   #50
Senior Member
 
Crockett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 833
I'm sorry....they have had manual switches on those for decades and then dometic decides its not important? thats a fair sized parasitic drain to a dry camper...I'm just in shock a little...
__________________

__________________
Crockett is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
battery, refrigerator

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:32 PM.