Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-17-2015, 12:00 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Cmccul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 114
Refrigerator will not run on propane

My Dometic refrigerator will not run on propane. When I go to LP mode the burner ignites. I can see the flames. But it is still clicking like it's trying to ignite it. After about 30 seconds it shuts off and the refrigerator flashes an error code. Everything works fine on AC operation.
__________________

__________________
[/SIGPIC]2015 Flagstaff 26RLWS Emerald
2014 Chevrolet 1500, 4 X 4, 5.3
26 nights so far in 2017
74 nights camped in 2016, 121 nights camped in 2015
Cmccul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2015, 12:17 PM   #2
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Sounds like the thermocouple is not sensing the flame.

TURBS
08 duramax tuned n modded
2011 32bhok Sabre
2015 camping "27 nights"
__________________

__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2015, 12:30 PM   #3
Head Rambler
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southwest Alabama
Posts: 4,322
Sounds like the ingitor/flame sensor isn't sensing the flame and shuts down after the ignition period.

Since you have a 2015 unit the fridge should be under warranty.
__________________
Salem 29RKSS Pushing a GMC Sierra 2500HD!
Gotta go campin!
Bama Rambler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2015, 03:54 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Cmccul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 114
Yes, it's under warranty but I was hoping I could find something and fix it. I have places to go and things to do.
__________________
[/SIGPIC]2015 Flagstaff 26RLWS Emerald
2014 Chevrolet 1500, 4 X 4, 5.3
26 nights so far in 2017
74 nights camped in 2016, 121 nights camped in 2015
Cmccul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2015, 05:06 PM   #5
Head Rambler
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southwest Alabama
Posts: 4,322
You can get the thermocouple on Amazon for less than $30. If it's worth that much not to have to deal with warranty you can order one and replace it yourself.

You could also call Dometic and see if they'll ship you one under the warranty.
__________________
Salem 29RKSS Pushing a GMC Sierra 2500HD!
Gotta go campin!
Bama Rambler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2015, 01:23 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Full timer,,,at Lake Georgetown in central Texas for the winter.
Posts: 426
Cmccul.....I was in the refrigeration business for 40 years, and I don't recommend buying a flame sensor. Yours is more than likely fine. If it gets a microscopic layer of soot on it, it'll interfere with the sensing and shut the valve down. The sensor is that thick type wire-rod that is in the flame,,,,,it's easy to take out and clean off with steel wool. It can be coated with such a thin layer of soot that you can't even see it. Try it before you start spending money that you don't need to. If this doesn't solve your problem, then you're at a point of getting professional help at a dealer.
__________________
Grampa Jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2015, 03:07 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Winter Park
Posts: 27
Dometic Frig doesn't work on Propane

We had the same problem and drove ourselves crazy trying to figure out what the heck the problem was. Nope, it wasn't the gas line or gauge. Nope, there was nothing blocking the refrigerator gas parts. The problem was the CO2 sensor was bad and had to be replaced. Once the CO2 sensor goes bad it automatically shuts off gas access. Good luck.
__________________
cap2015 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2015, 03:21 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
tncruiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: east tn.
Posts: 416
when that happened on mine FR tech at the Goshen ralleye fixed it "low manifold pressure" used a manometer and set the propane level correctly and it seem to be working well now
I think I quoted the technical terms correctly
BDJ
__________________
liven life in east TN and wherever my
2011georgetown280ve, and
2016 fordexplorer and hemi RAM
take us
tncruiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2015, 04:36 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 9
I had the same exact problem you are describing, but it was on a Norcold fridge. In my case the problem was the main circuit board.
__________________
mcjohnson74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2015, 12:21 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Cmccul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 114
Thank you Grandpa Jim. I took it apart and cleaned the probe and put it back together and all is well. I tried it for several minutes and then turned it off. Waited awhile and tried it again. Works great. Thanks for the info.
__________________

__________________
[/SIGPIC]2015 Flagstaff 26RLWS Emerald
2014 Chevrolet 1500, 4 X 4, 5.3
26 nights so far in 2017
74 nights camped in 2016, 121 nights camped in 2015
Cmccul is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
propane, refrigerator

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:42 PM.