Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-17-2016, 11:03 AM   #1

Replacing electric only fridge with gas/electric?

Hello, first post so bare with me please.

I am looking into purchasing my first travel trailer. Have picked out a model and its a Vibe 311rls Like everything about it for the price point except the Electric only fridge. I would like to be able to use this at deer camp and the fridge would require me to run a generator at all times.

So Does anyone know what it would take to replace the electric only fridge with a duel power unit.

I am a mechanic, and grew up in construction but travel trailers and propane appliances are a new thing to me. Would it be as simple as framing in for the new unit and running a propane line to it? or is that a pipe dream?

Thanks
quicky06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2016, 11:12 AM   #2

To get an idea what the differences are, I recommend looking at a similar unit that has an absorption frig.
Old 08-17-2016, 11:21 AM   #3

Actually you might do some research. Residential refers come with anminverter and usually 4 golf cart batteries. Giving several days before recharging is necessary. Remember the refer does not run 24/7, but actually, based on outside temps might actually only run for a couple hours a day. Residental refers are trending to be the preferred refer as they last longer, and cool better. Do your research before making a decision.
donniedu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2016, 11:21 AM   #4
Georgia Rally Coordinator

Are you sure it is not also a gas frig. Most refrigs are duel mode in these type of campers. Can you order one with the Gas/elec option if this one is all electric? Later RJD
2018 Dodge Ram 2500 6.4 3:73 gearing. Traded 2015 Chevy 2500 6.0, 4:10
Traded 2015 30WRLIKS V-Lite
Days camped 2019 62
Days camped 2020 49 days camped 2021-74 2022-40 days 2023 5 days