Old 08-17-2016, 11:03 AM   #1
Replacing electric only fridge with gas/electric?

Hello, first post so bare with me please.

I am looking into purchasing my first travel trailer. Have picked out a model and its a Vibe 311rls Like everything about it for the price point except the Electric only fridge. I would like to be able to use this at deer camp and the fridge would require me to run a generator at all times.

So Does anyone know what it would take to replace the electric only fridge with a duel power unit.

I am a mechanic, and grew up in construction but travel trailers and propane appliances are a new thing to me. Would it be as simple as framing in for the new unit and running a propane line to it? or is that a pipe dream?

quicky06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2016, 11:12 AM   #2
To get an idea what the differences are, I recommend looking at a similar unit that has an absorption frig.

2001 Coachmen Mirada (Ford F53 6.8L V10) - Toad 2001 Civic
It won't do MACH 2, but I can get a sandwich and take a pee.
waiter21 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2016, 11:21 AM   #3
Actually you might do some research. Residential refers come with anminverter and usually 4 golf cart batteries. Giving several days before recharging is necessary. Remember the refer does not run 24/7, but actually, based on outside temps might actually only run for a couple hours a day. Residental refers are trending to be the preferred refer as they last longer, and cool better. Do your research before making a decision.
donniedu is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2016, 11:21 AM   #4
Georgia Frog Rally 2017
Are you sure it is not also a gas frig. Most refrigs are duel mode in these type of campers. Can you order one with the Gas/elec option if this one is all electric? Later RJD
2015 35 FT V-Lite 30WRLIKS Diamond Package
2015 Chevy 2500 6.0 4:10 gearing.
Days camped in 2015--46
Days booked for 2016--60
Days camped in 2016 so far 51