Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-07-2019, 10:12 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
chuck9997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Clinton, Tennessee
Posts: 392
Running AC at home on regular house current

I have never done this.. and I know there are differing opinions. But.. does anyone here run their RV air conditioner while hooked up at home on the regular house current? I have always kept my camper plugged in at home.. and usually keep the fridge on.. but I don't run the AC.
What is your experience?
__________________

__________________
2014 Rockwood Premier A-122S
2013 FORD F-150 STX, Super Cab
chuck9997 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2019, 10:19 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Blackrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: SE Arizona's Gila Vally
Posts: 1,161
I have a 30amp box, water and a sewer drop at home. Works real well for when the kids come to visit.
__________________

__________________
2016 RAM 1500 - 2016 Keystone Laredo 265SRK
The road goes on forever and the party never ends.
Blackrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2019, 10:26 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Dayton Ohio
Posts: 1,016
Using a 100 extension cord and a 15 amp circuit you are close.

Typically the converter, fridge and ac are running. Pretty max.

Make sure the second ac is switched off.
tomkatb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2019, 10:37 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
frank4711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: North Port Florida
Posts: 936
Yep... we have a 50 amp hook up ... we do not run frig but we keep one A/C at 88 keeps camper dry .... central Fl has way to much humidity ... Thanks Frank
__________________
Frank & Cindy *** Rockwood Ultra Lite *** 2019 Ram *** Remi & Sage traveling Pomskies *** TST 507 TPMS *** B&W Patriot 18K *** 3.92 axle *** Goodyear Endurance *** 32 days camped 2019 *** Predator 3500
frank4711 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2019, 11:09 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: South Louisiana
Posts: 47
Have a 50 amp box, water, and sewage, everything stays on. Ready to use on a moments notice, don't want to miss a chance to go camping! 🤣 We also use it as a second kitchen or bedroom if needed.
wtbuck12 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2019, 11:50 AM   #6
Site Team
 
bikendan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Camano Island, Washington
Posts: 19,274
I've done it with both my trailers, for the past 14 years. Just used a 30-20 amp adapter.
__________________
Dan-Retired California Firefighter/EMT
Shawn-Musician/Entrepreneur/Wine Expert
and Zoe the Wonder Dog(R.I.P.)
2016 PrimeTime TracerAIR 255, pushing a 2014 Ford F150 SCREW XTR 4x4 3.5 Ecoboost w/Max Tow Package
Equalizer WDH
bikendan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2019, 11:59 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Dandridge,TN
Posts: 329
I do turn AC on when need and it's always plugged up but AC will not be on unless someone needs it. My power company has enough of my money they don't need it all!!
cfo111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2019, 01:23 PM   #8
Member
 
OldJarHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Shelby, NC
Posts: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by wtbuck12 View Post
Have a 50 amp box, water, and sewage, everything stays on. Ready to use on a moments notice, don't want to miss a chance to go camping! 🤣 We also use it as a second kitchen or bedroom if needed.
X2
__________________
2015 RAM 3500 Cummins LB 4x4
2018 Rockwood Signature Ultra Lite 8328BS
OldJarHead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2019, 01:30 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 14
I have a 30A outlet at home so I haven't experienced any problems. I have run it on my 3500 watt inverter generator as well with no problems. The typical rv a.c. unit draws about 14.5 amps and your standard outlet in most home is 15 amps. If you had nothing else running on that circuit, you would have just enough.
__________________
2018 Grand Cherokee 3.6
2018 Prime Time Tracer 20RBS
corky310 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2019, 01:38 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 14
Good article

Is It OK To Run My RVs Air Conditioner When Plugged Into House Electricity?
__________________
2018 Grand Cherokee 3.6
2018 Prime Time Tracer 20RBS
corky310 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2019, 01:49 PM   #11
Member
 
Old Forester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 61
I'm a total believer in running one or the other A/Cs in our Windjammer 3029. I put in a 60-amp 220v box on the outside of the garage and here in Louisiana, I'll set it at 80. I monitor it with an RF ThermPro Indoor Outdoor Temp/Humidity gizzmo sitting on kitchen counter and 100-feet away through 3 interior and one brick wall. I love how it keeps it around 35-40% RH inside. You have to be sure to clean the roof units after the annual pollen dump. In the winter, I run a dedicated Dehumidifier that drains to the outside through a small diameter hose.
Old Forester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2019, 02:04 PM   #12
Site Team
 
Mr. Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Grayson County, Texas
Posts: 12,212
Quote:
Originally Posted by Old Forester View Post
I'm a total believer in running one or the other A/Cs in our Windjammer 3029. I put in a 60-amp 220v box on the outside of the garage and here in Louisiana, I'll set it at 80. I monitor it with an RF ThermPro Indoor Outdoor Temp/Humidity gizzmo sitting on kitchen counter and 100-feet away through 3 interior and one brick wall. I love how it keeps it around 35-40% RH inside. You have to be sure to clean the roof units after the annual pollen dump. In the winter, I run a dedicated Dehumidifier that drains to the outside through a small diameter hose.
I don't think this is what the OP meant by "regular house current".
__________________
SEARCH is your friend!
FR Wildcat 295RSX / GMC Sierra

Nights Camped: '13 = 49/'14 = 74/'15 = 74/'16 = 85/'17 = 110/'18 =111/'19 = 86; booked = 0
Mr. Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2019, 02:08 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
lazyjj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 115
Have 50amp and home. 92 degree day today and both AC units are currently running. Even parked under shed.
lazyjj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2019, 02:13 PM   #14
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Woodland, CA
Posts: 26
Only is you have the AMPS needed

Quote:
Originally Posted by chuck9997 View Post
I have never done this.. and I know there are differing opinions. But.. does anyone here run their RV air conditioner while hooked up at home on the regular house current? I have always kept my camper plugged in at home.. and usually keep the fridge on.. but I don't run the AC.
What is your experience?

If you have the power... else you will pop your circuit breaker. I have an EV charger for my two electric cars and use that to power my RV.
tmsimmons56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2019, 02:50 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Yorktown VA
Posts: 49
I have a 30amp circuit for my class c which I plug in at home. No different than being plugged in at an RV park.
Luke Moseley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2019, 03:36 PM   #16
Pickin', Campin', Mason
 
5picker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: South Western PA
Posts: 10,401
What are you describing as 'regular house current'?

The current at your house is no different than any other current in the USA.

The voltage/amperage of the connection may be different but not the current.
__________________
_________________________________________
2016 Flagstaff 8529IKBS Diamond Package 5th Wheel-Goodyear Endurance Tires
2017 Ford F-Series SCREW 4x4 - Factory Puck B&W Companion
TST Tire Monitor w/Repeater - Sinemate 3500w Gen.

Days Camped: '16=46 '17=30 '18=51 '19=50
5picker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2019, 03:37 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Villagerjjm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 400
I have a 20 amp breaker on a standard outdoor outlet that I will plug into using a 20amp to household outlet adapter. I live in Florida, so I run the AC quite a bit. Never had any problems.
Villagerjjm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2019, 04:42 PM   #18
Member
 
Old Forester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 61
HHmmm, anybody besides me notice how the title of this post has changed? From no mention of house current in the title, Running AC At Home , to "Running AC at home in regular house current",, to now the "in" has been switched to "on"... Something in Denmark smelleth.........
Old Forester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2019, 05:14 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 4,239
Thinking the title has changed because of so many different answers. Like Mr.Dan, I believe the OP is refering to a standard 15A electrical outlet at his home. Not a 50A, not a 30A, but just a good old 15A. You can do it, but when I did it, the cord and plug always got pretty warm...almost to HOT side of things when I ran the AC. Most times it tripped the breaker quite easily. That's when I installed a 30A in garage to plug TT into.
TheWolfPaq82 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2019, 06:50 PM   #20
Don't Camp Enough
 
DSMURPHY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 145
Quote:
Originally Posted by frank4711 View Post
Yep... we have a 50 amp hook up ... we do not run frig but we keep one A/C at 88 keeps camper dry .... central Fl has way to much humidity ... Thanks Frank
X2
__________________

__________________
'2016 Rockwood 8288WSA
'2016 F-350

DSMURPHY is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:54 AM.


×