Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-13-2012, 12:40 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 4
Satellite Dish problem

I have a bought a 2013 Blue Ridge and when I hooked into a permanently mounted satellite dish, I am not able to view all the channels. I have ran a coax cable from the dish, to the trailer and then connected to the port mounted within one of the cubbies, then the reciever is connected with another coax cable. If I hook the coax cable from the dish directly to the reciever I have all my channels so it is something within the trailer. I have tried to connect the coax cable to each of the different ports with no results. Has anyone had this problem? I am the only camper in our campsite with this problem.
__________________

__________________
BlueRidge2013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2012, 12:45 PM   #2
Mod free 5er
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 24,215
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueRidge2013 View Post
I have a bought a 2013 Blue Ridge and when I hooked into a permanently mounted satellite dish, I am not able to view all the channels. I have ran a coax cable from the dish, to the trailer and then connected to the port mounted within one of the cubbies, then the reciever is connected with another coax cable. If I hook the coax cable from the dish directly to the reciever I have all my channels so it is something within the trailer. I have tried to connect the coax cable to each of the different ports with no results. Has anyone had this problem? I am the only camper in our campsite with this problem.
It has to be plugged into the Satellite plug and then push the button in the trailer to disconnect the antenna.
__________________

__________________
OldCoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2012, 01:47 PM   #3
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
AquaMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Tipp City, OH
Posts: 6,477
Is the connection within the unit a dedicated satellite connection or are you running through the outside cable connection? I believe it has to be a dedicated satellite connection to receive all the stations. The power antenna circuit I think filters some of the channels. My 365saq has 2 outside satellite connections along with a park cable connection, and has seperate inside connections for tv/satellite.
__________________
2016 Georgetown 364TS
Nights Camped 2017 - 49
AquaMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2012, 02:02 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 4
I have the coax cable plugged into the outside satellite connections and I have pushed the button on the antenna to disable that. My model also has the 2 outside satellite connections along with a park cable connection and 2 inside connections. I have tried connecting with every option available and I still can not recieve all channels unless I hook my coax cable directly to the reciever without routing it through the existing connections on the trailer. Any other ideas on what I can try?
__________________
BlueRidge2013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2012, 02:35 PM   #5
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
AquaMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Tipp City, OH
Posts: 6,477
My guess would be that either their is a loose/bad connection on an end or maybe the coax inside the unit is not of proper size for the channels you are missing. Not even sure if that would be an issue, just a guess.
__________________
2016 Georgetown 364TS
Nights Camped 2017 - 49
AquaMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2012, 02:38 PM   #6
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
AquaMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Tipp City, OH
Posts: 6,477
maybe try a cheap cable, with multiple splices, and plug directly into your receiver and see if you can duplicate the problem.
__________________
2016 Georgetown 364TS
Nights Camped 2017 - 49
AquaMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2012, 02:53 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
lindy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Jamestown NY
Posts: 588
Correctly if I'm wrong but isn't a permanetly mounted antenna DIRECTLY wired into and thru the trl with the cable coming out in the vic of the TV, and this is where you hook the sat box in? I thought that there was no need for addition wiring outside the trl at the dish/cable box?
__________________

2012 Winnebago "Journey To Insanity" 40U
2008 Dakota Sport 4x4
2004 Subaru Baja - DW's
2006 Honda Shadow Aero - TOAD for now.
F.R.O.G. member
lindy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 08:52 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 12
I think the problem lies with the wiring in the trailer. It is probably using a basic cable splitter and not a satellite splitter. Same thing happened to me years ago at my house when I tried to use a cable splitter on a directv feed to power 2 receivers. Each receiver only showed half the channels.
__________________
2013 Sandpiper 365SAQ
hp178 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 09:08 PM   #9
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
That's why you need an scs-2a diplexer
Standard on dish network with hd reciever.
http://www.montanasatellitesupply.co...A_p/ask118.htm


Direct tv may use something similar.
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2012, 08:38 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
mike54's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Crystal lake,IL
Posts: 248
today was the first time i hooked up my sat. dish on my Rockwood I hooked the outside cable to dedicated satellite connector outside hooked the reciever to the sat/aux inside I shut off the amp. no satellite signal nothing. I messed with it 3 hrs I got I ran the cable from the receiver out the window to the sat. dish took the tv off the mount hooked the receiver directly to the back of the tv in a couple minutes i had my satellite up and running.
Just one more thing screwed up on my yr old Rockwood that I will have to fix
__________________

__________________
Mike & Marsha
2011 Signature Ultra Lite 8319SS
2005 Dodge Ram 3500 5.9 cummins diesel

http://www.facebook.com/WestAllisSunshiners
mike54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:22 AM.