Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-30-2015, 06:04 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Deerfield, WI
Posts: 63
Is your dish a round one with 1 LNB, or a 5 LNB oval. If the first is what you have, you will not get local channels at all. With a round dish you will only get low def programming from Satellite 101. If you have the full slimline oval dish with 5 LNB, you have to align it properly using the dithering technique so that you receive signals from all of the satellites. The high def and locals are all from satellites other than 101.


I have Directv and I get my actual home locals regardless of my location.
__________________

__________________
hunterrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2015, 06:18 PM   #12
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 19
I have the direct tv oval hd dish. I have no problem receiving hd, just can't get local.
__________________

__________________
pcbikenski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2015, 06:25 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Deerfield, WI
Posts: 63
Did you get the locals when you tried it in your driveway? If so, it might just be an alignment problem. Aligning the dish to get all the satellites is tricky. There are some good youtube videos demonstrating the dithering procedure. Some of the satellites have very narrow beams so the dish has to be precisely aligned to get them.
If you got them in your driveway and you're sure the dish was perfectly aligned when you were away and couldn't get them, I'm out of ideas. All the locals come from the same satellite so it makes no difference what your actual location is. I get mine everywhere. Which ones you get is based on the zip associated with your account not your present physical location.
__________________
hunterrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2015, 07:06 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
dicky1243's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: SD
Posts: 172
Quote:
Originally Posted by TURBS View Post
I don't think this is possible.

For the same reason when you leave your home area you can't receive home locals, if you have your service switched to Florida your home dish won't receive FL locals sorry.

TURBS
08 duramax tuned n modded, 32bhok Sabre

Well Turbs I have a 5thw and I put my recievers in it and have a 1000.2 dish on a tri-pod i set up every time we move, i set the rec. to the correct zip and the az el and skew says what dish is to be set up to then i call dish and tell and tell them to send me locals and in 5-10 mins i am watching TV. But now that I got a book with all the zip codes in the usa i don't have to reset it in rec. it takes me roughly 15 mins to set up and be watching TV. Alot shorter than when first started to do this and we have been doing this for four yrs.
__________________
2006 Gmc
2016 Forestriver Sierra 376 BHOK
Full Timers
Dick,
dicky1243 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2015, 08:38 AM   #15
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 19
Now I'm not really sure if I got local channels in my driveway! It was just a test of my equipment.
__________________
pcbikenski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2015, 08:50 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Independence, Kansas
Posts: 619
My wife records soap operas on the local stations. When we went to Utah I had Dish switch the locals not knowing they would be cut off at home. When we got back from our trip my wife went in the den and sat down to watch her recorded soaps. There was some screeching and screaming and I have not made that mistake since.
__________________
comfun1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2015, 09:07 AM   #17
clr
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sherman Illinois
Posts: 661
Direct TV locals

I tries to move my local channels with Direct TV this fall just prior to heading south for the winter and was informed by Direct
TV that they no longer move the local channels temp as in the past. Of course you could lie and move your service address but I do not want to do that. I was told by a friend that Dish locals and still allowed to be changed and there is a web site online to move the locals so you do not even have to call them.

Setup worked great in TX very easy to setup and my wife loved being able to record shows but missed being able to record OTA shows. Used the rig antenna for the OTA.
__________________
clr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2015, 09:48 AM   #18
Senior Member
 
DAISY BOYKIN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: SUNSHINE STATE
Posts: 1,623
Send a message via Skype™ to DAISY BOYKIN
Local channels

The local channels will only work up to about 250 mile away from your home base for DirectV after that, zilch! if you are with in the 250 range, the dish has to be reset for the ZIP CODE you are set up in, the azim, ele, and tilt has to be reset.

Direct tv spot beams the locals for your home zip code, when you move from the home settings, re-adjust you antenna. Your local channels are
on transponder 119.
__________________
Sid, Lois & HRH MISSY Terrible 2s SHIH TZU
2011 ROCKWOOD 8285 WS
2014 F-250 KING RANCH PS/SD/6R140/BFT
TST Truck System Technologies TM-507SE
DAYS CAMPED 2017 66 DAYS
DAISY BOYKIN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2015, 11:12 AM   #19
clr
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sherman Illinois
Posts: 661
When I went south I was about 1200 miles from my home zip code so I was outside of the local channel spot beam therefor no local Ch via Direct TV. At least that is my understanding and when I set up down south all worked great but no locals.
__________________
clr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2015, 07:38 PM   #20
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 12
The zip code doesn't have anything at all to do with what stations you will receive. Entering the zip code is only done to find out where to aim your dish from whatever location you are in at that time.

If you take a receiver out of your house and put it in your rig, you will ALWAYS get your home stations. We've been all over, and never received anything but our local (at home) stations.
__________________

__________________
ptillett is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
satellite

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:49 PM.