Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-02-2015, 10:14 AM   #31
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by abjb View Post
Back on topic.
OP says "Direct TV" multiple LNB'S, works but no local channels on trip.

Sorry I can't help.
We have "Direct TV", ONE lnb, local channels WORK in S. central CO (home service area), at this time NO local channels in N. TX, no local channels last year in NM NV & W. TX.

ab&jb
Direct tv works the same .
Locals are "spot beamed" to your home zip code only.
Which Is why he gets no locals.

Which is the topic.

You could have 14 LNB'S it wouldn't matter you still won't get your locals when out of your area.

TURBS
08 duramax tuned n modded, 32bhok Sabre
__________________

__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2015, 01:21 PM   #32
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
BombDoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: SC Lowcountry
Posts: 1,437
Quote:
Originally Posted by ptillett View Post
The zip code doesn't have anything at all to do with what stations you will receive. Entering the zip code is only done to find out where to aim your dish from whatever location you are in at that time.

If you take a receiver out of your house and put it in your rig, you will ALWAYS get your home stations. We've been all over, and never received anything but our local (at home) stations.

We are not referring to entering your zip code on the television screen as you go through the auto set function of either the tailgater or other device. We are saying when you call in to your provider, you must give the zip code of your location in order to get that local area market.
__________________

__________________
John & April & "Scout"
2013 Sabre 32RCTS-6
Nights Camped 2013-(44) 2014-(59) 2015-(47)
2016-(32) 2017-13
BombDoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2015, 03:39 PM   #33
Senior Member
 
DAISY BOYKIN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: SUNSHINE STATE
Posts: 1,623
Send a message via Skype™ to DAISY BOYKIN
Spot beamed for sure

Well I guess I was right Turbs, Bomb Doc. Been messing with antennas for DirectV ever since the system has been up and running. I guess I learned something after 28 years in the communications business. Been there done that!

LNB's are simply extra connections for additional receivers & HD. If you have one LNB, you run one receiver. It is just a simple way to get voltage
13-18 VDC down the coax to power the LNB for the receiver in use. It is the way the system works.


And by the way Turbs & Bomb Doc you are 100% right!
__________________
Sid, Lois & HRH MISSY Terrible 2s SHIH TZU
2011 ROCKWOOD 8285 WS
2014 F-250 KING RANCH PS/SD/6R140/BFT
TST Truck System Technologies TM-507SE
DAYS CAMPED 2017 66 DAYS
DAISY BOYKIN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2015, 03:51 PM   #34
Mod free 5er
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 24,215
Quote:
Originally Posted by ptillett View Post
The zip code doesn't have anything at all to do with what stations you will receive. Entering the zip code is only done to find out where to aim your dish from whatever location you are in at that time.

If you take a receiver out of your house and put it in your rig, you will ALWAYS get your home stations. We've been all over, and never received anything but our local (at home) stations.
Then you've never ventured outside the local station area of approx. 100 mile radius or whatever the distance is. Once outside that 100 mile radius or whatever it is, you will NOT get your normal local stations WITHOUT calling the provider and giving them your new location. Doesn't matter if you pull your receiver out of your house or have one specifically for your rv, they all react the same way. You are going against folks who have literally traveled all over the US of A and know what they are talking about.
__________________
OldCoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2015, 04:02 PM   #35
Senior Member
 
B and B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Wilmot Twp, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 8,604
It is possible the gentleman that posted earlier local channel might be a national beam. Like Detroit or NYC. Might be on a national beam. In Canada we get all locals everywhere. We have spot beams as well. I can, if I had a large dish, watch all SD signals in Mexico. Some HD might make it but very few. With my Carryout all I get is SD.
__________________
B and B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2015, 04:20 PM   #36
Senior Member
 
DAISY BOYKIN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: SUNSHINE STATE
Posts: 1,623
Send a message via Skype™ to DAISY BOYKIN
International communications agreement

I understand the latest satellite communications agreement with the US & Canada is going to stop the signals from Canada from venturing very far into the US. Another words the signal for the Canada will not be available
very far past the border between the US & Canada. Bell Canada has already stopped the signals close to the border.

What a shame. I understand Canadians love their hockey. I guess somebody is not getting their cut of the $$.
__________________
Sid, Lois & HRH MISSY Terrible 2s SHIH TZU
2011 ROCKWOOD 8285 WS
2014 F-250 KING RANCH PS/SD/6R140/BFT
TST Truck System Technologies TM-507SE
DAYS CAMPED 2017 66 DAYS
DAISY BOYKIN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2015, 06:19 PM   #37
Senior Member
 
vinmaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: MA
Posts: 1,793
I am curious. How does Dish "know" where I am? If I am not hooked up to phone/internet, then how does it know where I am? I live in Boston. If I drive to another location and take my dish, will I not still get my Boston channels?

Or is the conversation about not getting the channels local to what I happen to be at the time?

Has anyone tried to call up and change the zip code as an end around to the NFL? If I like the packers, can I call and tell them I am camping on the frozen tundra? Does this work?

Vin.
__________________

2015 HW296
2006 HW256 (previous pup)
2013 Chevy Tahoe
Equalizer WDH 1000#
vinmaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2015, 06:36 PM   #38
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by vinmaker View Post
I am curious. How does Dish "know" where I am? If I am not hooked up to phone/internet, then how does it know where I am? I live in Boston. If I drive to another location and take my dish, will I not still get my Boston channels?

Or is the conversation about not getting the channels local to what I happen to be at the time?

Has anyone tried to call up and change the zip code as an end around to the NFL? If I like the packers, can I call and tell them I am camping on the frozen tundra? Does this work?

Vin.
Vin,

If I live in Chicago dish knows my billing address so that's where the spot beam is told your receiver is "in not so many words"

Now if I take my receiver and go to Nashville all your "home locals" are blank.

So you call dish and say hey I'm in my rv in Nashville please use that zip code.

Now you will get Nashville locals but you must be in Nashville.

Now if you still have a receiver @ home if you turn to your local channels they'll be blank you will not get Chicago locals nor Nashville.

Think of it as there's a flashlight singing down on Nashville transmitting locals that flashlight cannot shine to Chicago as well.

Make sense?

TURBS
08 duramax tuned n modded, 32bhok Sabre
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2015, 06:52 PM   #39
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Okeechobee, FL
Posts: 175
Directv will do it but only a few times with time in between. If you are just on a short vacation, use DTV in the RV with your home base channels and a portable, to window antenna, or wineguard-type roof antenna for local news.
__________________
Bob & Sue Rowan
Okeechobee, FL
2012 Coachmen Mirada 29DS (SOLD)
2015 Keystone Bullet Travel Trailer
2016 F-150 Lariat with Auto Trailer Backup
Dog = Morki (Yorkie-Maltese) - Zoe
Malabarbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2015, 07:22 PM   #40
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
BombDoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: SC Lowcountry
Posts: 1,437
Quote:
Originally Posted by vinmaker View Post
I am curious. How does Dish "know" where I am? If I am not hooked up to phone/internet, then how does it know where I am? I live in Boston. If I drive to another location and take my dish, will I not still get my Boston channels?

Or is the conversation about not getting the channels local to what I happen to be at the time?

Has anyone tried to call up and change the zip code as an end around to the NFL? If I like the packers, can I call and tell them I am camping on the frozen tundra? Does this work?

Vin.
Vin,
First I want to say I am no expert, I just have a lot of experience dealing with both DirecTV and Dish Network.

To answer your question about getting the ball game by some "back door" method, probably not. It would depend on how the game was broadcast. If it was on one of the paid channels, like NFL Network, you probably would be able to get it. But, if it was not and was televised on ABC, NBC, or CBS and not a major game, who knows. That comes down to what "market" the game is being televised in and whether or not blackout restrictions apply. If you were in Boston and wanted to watch a Packers game, you'd need to know if the Packers game was being televised in their "local market", if it were and you were "close" enough zip code wise, you might be able to "fool" them. But, I doubt it and you'd have to call them back and give them your Boston zip code in order to get your local Boston channels back.

This may clarify, and I hope it does. I live in Beaufort SC, 54 miles (as a crow flys) from Charleston, SC (my home town). Beaufort is 35 miles or so from Savannah GA. By law, my local market is Savannah, all the commercials on TV are geared to me spending dollars in Savannah, car dealerships, sales, and the news is all GA (very little SC). This is a law, as each satellite service provider must support "local markets" regardless of what the customer wants and is willing to pay for. I could care less about GA politics, state happenings, schools, etc. I want SC locals and I have them. But it came with much frustration dealing with people on the phone. I was told that the "local beam is about 75 miles" around their local markets. I said well, I'm only 54 miles away. He said well, let's try it. "Give me a zip code in Charleston and I'll add it to your account" I did and my TV went black and when it rebooted and came back on "bam" I had Charleston locals. I was happy. The only issue I have had was when Dish Network called me to say my Dish needed to be adjusted because they were dropping satellites an picking up other ones. Therefor the dish on my house needed to be adjusted. When the service tech showed up he called me on my cell and said "Mr. **** I'm in your drive way and you're not home" I said "yes I am".........he was at my in-laws house in Charleston.... True Story!
__________________

__________________
John & April & "Scout"
2013 Sabre 32RCTS-6
Nights Camped 2013-(44) 2014-(59) 2015-(47)
2016-(32) 2017-13
BombDoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
satellite

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:20 AM.