Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-30-2015, 09:22 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 19
satellite tv, local programming

Ok, I got the extra dish, tripod, etc. Set it all up home in the driveway. All went fine. Did the same on our trip and again it worked; however, no local channels. It's not a problem now, I'm in Memphis. Local broadcasts over the air. My issue is for remote areas with no over the air signals. Direct tv tells me local programming is not available away from home. Is this the case with all dishes?
__________________

__________________
pcbikenski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2015, 09:32 AM   #2
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by pcbikenski View Post
Ok, I got the extra dish, tripod, etc. Set it all up home in the driveway. All went fine. Did the same on our trip and again it worked; however, no local channels. It's not a problem now, I'm in Memphis. Local broadcasts over the air. My issue is for remote areas with no over the air signals. Direct tv tells me local programming is not available away from home. Is this the case with all dishes?
You just need to call your satellite provider and tell them what zip code your in.
They'll change your locals to that zip code.
Albeit it will be the local channels where your at not @ home.
Yes there all Like that.

TURBS
08 duramax tuned n modded, 32bhok Sabre
__________________

__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2015, 09:34 AM   #3
Berkshire 390QS
 
NO3putt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Pueblo Colorado
Posts: 1,251
With DISH network we just call them and tell them to change the "service address" and we get local chanels for where we are at. Do you have a seperate RV account with Direct or just using your home account?
__________________
2011: 54 days, 2012: 218 days, 2013: 175 days, 2014: 196 days
2015: 188 days, 2016: 72 days, 2017: 185
2009 Berkshire, 390QS, and toad
Skip
NO3putt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2015, 10:54 AM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 19
Just the home I think, but I told them I wanted it for my motorhome!????
__________________
pcbikenski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2015, 01:28 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
plshilo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Wellborn, Florida
Posts: 313
Most of the people with Dish are off in "O" Zone and have to explain that you are in a RV to get the local stuff then Don't forget to call them on the way home to get them Changed Back to the home address..... Good Luck
__________________
Phil & Linda and our two four legged girls - Cricket & Lucy
2016 F350 Super Duty
2011 Prime Time 27.0 RET Crusader 5th Wheel
plshilo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2015, 01:34 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Kure Beach, NC
Posts: 59
No3putt is correct. However, DISH will only let u have a service address on one acct. every time I changed my service address to my RV location that also changed my local channels I had at my home. Since I had grown kids at home they weren't keen watching Fl locals when they were still in Mi.
I finally, got an RV account that I put on on when not traveling.
Another option is to buy a better TV antenna for your locals.
Hope this helps.
__________________
Pkowski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2015, 01:38 PM   #7
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pkowski View Post
Since I had grown kids at home they weren't keen watching Fl locals when they were still in Mi.
I don't think this is possible.

For the same reason when you leave your home area you can't receive home locals, if you have your service switched to Florida your home dish won't receive FL locals sorry.

TURBS
08 duramax tuned n modded, 32bhok Sabre
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2015, 01:51 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Kure Beach, NC
Posts: 59
In stand corrected. I did not receive any locals at the home. Sorry for the confusion
__________________
Pkowski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2015, 01:53 PM   #9
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pkowski View Post
In stand corrected. I did not receive any locals at the home. Sorry for the confusion
No problem!

TURBS
08 duramax tuned n modded, 32bhok Sabre
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2015, 02:47 PM   #10
Old Timer
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sunny southern NM
Posts: 63
Looks like all the respondents so far have Dish. With DirecTV it depends on what kind of satellite dish antenna you are using. Any plain round dish will not receive the locals when aimed for the other channels, nor will it receive programming in HD (presumably) Nevertheless, I use a Winegard Carryout Anser (easy aiming) with my DirecTV receiver in the 5er. Picture quality when properly aimed is way good for me. I rely on the OTA (antenna) for local channels wherever I am. If I were using the triple LNB oval DirecTV antenna I could receive local channels, but they would be from here at home no matter where I was (I think).
Well that's my two bits worth from a DirecTV fan.

__________________

__________________
kentnjudy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
satellite

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:04 AM.