Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-18-2015, 04:49 PM   #11
Site Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 2,088
Quote:
Originally Posted by RBR View Post
We are getting a direct satellite dish installed. We have 3 tvs and 2 boxes do we need a box for each TV or can one box be shared?
I believe you need a box for each TV. You can share a box but you'll get the same channel on both TVs.
__________________

__________________
Iwritecode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2015, 06:56 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
mudman2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: S Florida
Posts: 193
Quote:
Originally Posted by HSVBamaBob View Post
Or if you are at a camp with WIFI, no data usage at all!
Truth it is.
__________________

__________________
mudman2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2015, 11:11 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 419
Quote:
Originally Posted by RBR View Post
We are getting a direct satellite dish installed. We have 3 tvs and 2 boxes do we need a box for each TV or can one box be shared?

If in dash radio is not sirus ready can you still install sirus or do need a new radio. Or is there some other easier way to get sirus radio


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
Hi Dish network still has Sirus radio available to listen to.
Not sure if you want to watch 2 channels at one time or share 1 channel with 2 TV's. To watch 2 channels you will need a duel receiver and sat that is duel capable or 2 receiver and 2 sat dishes. To share just split the signal out put from the sat receiver to the 2 TV's.

Hope this helps Tim
__________________
TimVWulp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2015, 08:20 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
Wolverine 1945's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: SouthWest Michigan
Posts: 3,692
Does anyone know if it is possible to change the Jensen Radio Clock on the exterior of the Sunseeker,,, it seams to think it is in a different time zone ??? The Jensen TV was off by an hour last year,,, seams to be right now ???
Came with no book !!!
__________________
Wolverine 1945 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2015, 09:58 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: fort worth texas
Posts: 57
I use portable direct tv dish with 2 boxes 1 box controls LR,OUTSIDE AND BUNK TVS, 1 box for br,,,only get sd is only drawback.i use boxes from home
__________________
sonny bransom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2015, 10:14 AM   #16
Member
 
Christian_D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolverine 1945 View Post
Does anyone know if it is possible to change the Jensen Radio Clock on the exterior of the Sunseeker,,, it seams to think it is in a different time zone ??? The Jensen TV was off by an hour last year,,, seams to be right now ???
Came with no book !!!
On our Jensen, if you push and hold the volume adjust knob the time/hour will flash. Rotate the knob to adjust. Then do the same for minutes.

**This is while the radio is off/clock is displayed.
__________________
Christian
Reno, NV
2015 Georgetown 270
Days Camped 2015: 40
Days Camped 2016: 03
Christian_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2015, 11:58 AM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by CA Fisherman View Post
RBR We have a DirecTV Genie system in our Georgetown. The bedroom TV is connected to the DirecTV DVR (considered the server) and the other two TV's have a small thin Genie slave unit which is attached to the back of each TV with strips of Velcro. The system supports full HD (1080i and 1080p) and allows viewing/recording/playback of up to five programs at the same time.
.

Ca fisherman, just so I'm clear.
You don't need wifi service to make the Directv genie work? Does it have its own wifi then? I didn't know that. I was thinking I needed to have wifi at the camp site to make that work.
That's great if the genie has its own.
Cheers.
__________________
barrie1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2015, 12:17 PM   #18
Senior Member - Retired
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Yorba Linda, CA
Posts: 191
Barrie1: The DirecTV Genie system does not require wifi availability since the master and slave units are cabled. It was a lot of work to run new cables to all three TV's and to the roof, but I wanted to ensure I ended up with a rock-solid reliable system. There is a new wireless version of the Genie system, however I do not suggest it as the wireless system still has a few "bugs."

The Genie master unit (DVR) has wifi capability so you can link it to an available wifi signal and then pull in content from Amazon Prime, etc. When our MH is parked at home, I can link the MH to our house system and share recording and content between the three MH TV's and the five TV's in our house.
__________________
John & Gloria Hunsaker FROG Member CA-0030-988
2014 Georgetown XL 334QS (class A with 4 slides)
2013 Smart Car TOAD
Blue Ox Aventa LX tow bar, base plates, diode kit
SMI Stay-IN-Play Duo auxiliary braking system
25' Off shore blue water fishing boat
CA Fisherman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2015, 06:44 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by CA Fisherman View Post
Barrie1: The DirecTV Genie system does not require wifi availability since the master and slave units are cabled. It was a lot of work to run new cables to all three TV's and to the roof, but I wanted to ensure I ended up with a rock-solid reliable system. There is a new wireless version of the Genie system, however I do not suggest it as the wireless system still has a few "bugs."

The Genie master unit (DVR) has wifi capability so you can link it to an available wifi signal and then pull in content from Amazon Prime, etc. When our MH is parked at home, I can link the MH to our house system and share recording and content between the three MH TV's and the five TV's in our house.
Thank you for helping me understand how their system works.
I guess you hard wired between the master and the slaves at the other TV's. That way wifi isn't needed.
My wife says she want Directv in our bedroom in the Shockwave. I do have our DVR in the living area. I'm sure your slave receivers are much smaller than hanging another complete receiver in the bedroom. As you said the Velcro works well.
Maybe I should switch to the genie.
__________________
barrie1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2015, 07:21 AM   #20
Senior Member
 
Wolverine 1945's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: SouthWest Michigan
Posts: 3,692
Thank you Christian,,, I will try that,,, I thought I had tried that but will try again !!!
Thanks again for the reply !!!
__________________

__________________
Wolverine 1945 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
radio, satellite

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:22 AM.