Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-29-2012, 09:47 AM   #1
MaD
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 41
stove hood fan

my stove hood fan stopped working. I took it out and it works if i bypass the resister (or whatever it's called) on the white wire.

Is this required? Or do i need to find a replacement for that thing?
__________________

__________________
MaD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 10:31 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 292
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaD View Post
my stove hood fan stopped working. I took it out and it works if i bypass the resister (or whatever it's called) on the white wire.

Is this required? Or do i need to find a replacement for that thing?
I'd be replacing it. Using the gas stovetop in a small confined space without an exhaust fan sounds dangerous to me.
__________________

__________________

2011 F150 SuperCrew 5.0 4x4
2012 Flagstaff 27BESS
pappcam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 10:46 AM   #3
Mod free 5er
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 24,215
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaD View Post
my stove hood fan stopped working. I took it out and it works if i bypass the resister (or whatever it's called) on the white wire.

Is this required? Or do i need to find a replacement for that thing?

X2 on the cooking in a camper without the exhaust fan running.

How about a picture, mine does not have the (whatever it's called). You might see if the motor gets hot by running it without that thing. If it doesn't, just try it that way and keep a close watch on it.
__________________
OldCoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 11:06 AM   #4
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
Posts: 2,381
I can only take a guess here. The white may be a thermistor. Since it is in series, I can't imagine it being a fuse. A thermistor, has a given resistance for a given temp. As the temp goes up, the resistance goes down. This would keep the fan at a slightly lower speed, when first turned on, but if heat built up, would slowly increase the fan speed.

I don't know this for sure, just a guess, and about the only thing that makes sense to me anyway.
__________________
LadyWindrider
2012 Ford F250 ext. Cab 4x4
2002 Jeep Wrangler Sahara
2008 Yamaha V-Star 650 Classic

2008 Work and Play 18LT
LadyWindrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 11:27 AM   #5
MaD
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 41
I just had a closer look and in very small letters it says "sefuse 15a" so i guess it's a fuse. Might have a hard time finding one like that.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2012-08-29 12.23.39.jpg
Views:	117
Size:	43.0 KB
ID:	18840  
__________________
MaD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 11:39 AM   #6
Mod free 5er
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 24,215
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaD View Post
I just had a closer look and in very small letters it says "sefuse 15a" so i guess it's a fuse. Might have a hard time finding one like that.
You can get replacement fuses and fuse holders at any auto parts stores.
Personally think 15a is a little high for a fan motor. Maybe 7.5 or 10 max.
__________________
OldCoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 11:39 AM   #7
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaD
I just had a closer look and in very small letters it says "sefuse 15a" so i guess it's a fuse. Might have a hard time finding one like that.
Radio shack .
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 11:46 AM   #8
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
Posts: 2,381
I would convert to replaceable auto style, or something easier to find. May still have a fan problem, something caused it to blow.
__________________
LadyWindrider
2012 Ford F250 ext. Cab 4x4
2002 Jeep Wrangler Sahara
2008 Yamaha V-Star 650 Classic

2008 Work and Play 18LT
LadyWindrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 12:12 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Road-King's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: TN
Posts: 645
Just did a Google on that sefuse. It seems to be a Thermal Fuse. Cuts the power when the ambient temp gets to specified point...

Found this on eBay may be what you need...

5 PCS NEC SEFUSE Cutoffs SF240E Thermal Fuse 240 C 15A 250V on eBay!
__________________
Russ & Kim
2014 Alpine 3600RS
2007 Dodge Ram 3500 5.9 4X4
2008 Harley Davidson Road King 105th Anniversary
(2011-5 bad year)(2012-40)(2013-45)(2014-23)
Road-King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 12:21 PM   #10
Mod free 5er
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 24,215
Quote:
Originally Posted by Road-King View Post
Just did a Google on that sefuse. It seems to be a Thermal Fuse. Cuts the power when the ambient temp gets to specified point...

Found this on eBay may be what you need...

5 PCS NEC SEFUSE Cutoffs SF240E Thermal Fuse 240 C 15A 250V on eBay!
Not being an electrical guru, I would replace it with an automotive fuse and holder.
__________________

__________________
OldCoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fan

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:03 PM.