Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-12-2013, 02:26 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 3
suburban furnace in 2010 sprinter

Furnace will not heat when turned on. blower runs but no hot air. It is not easy to get to and thought there might be a trick to fixing.
__________________

__________________
tomduncan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2013, 07:48 AM   #2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 3
Sorry, 2010 sprinter 26bh.
__________________

__________________
tomduncan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2013, 12:55 PM   #3
Moderators' Assistant
 
bikendan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Camano Island, Washington
Posts: 13,306
you do know that the Sprinter 26BH is made by Keystone, not Forest River?
and that there's the same kind of forum for Keystone owners, as this one is for Forest River owners?
Keystone RV Forums

you're more than welcome here, cause it is the BEST RV FORUM on the Internet!
we welcome anyone here, even if you don't have a FR product.

just wanted to let you know that for specific non-general RV questions about your Sprinter, you'll should get more help on the Keystone Owner's Forum.

you can be on both and see which one you like best. maybe FRF for general RV stuff and the Keystone one for Keystone-related stuff.
__________________
Dan-Retired Firefighter/EMT
Shawn-Musician/Entrepreneur/Wine Expert
and Zoe the Wonder Dog(R.I.P.)
2016 PrimeTime TracerAIR 255, pushing a 2014 Ford F150 4x4 3.5 Ecoboost w/Max Tow Package
Equalizer WDH and Prodigy BC
bikendan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2013, 01:10 PM   #4
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
If you have a Suburban Furnace in your camper (most likely you do); here are some trouble shooting tips.

Need to actually mention this so DO NOT take offense. Do you have propane?

Turn on ALL the gas range burners and light them. Put them all on HIGH. Are all the flames blue and tall? If yellow and anemic you have a propane pressure problem. Could be low propane; stuck check valve; bad regulator; gooped up pigtail at the bottle, or a tripped pressure loss safety valve.

Fixes for propane issues: try the other tank; turn them off and open them SLOWLY (30 seconds from closed to open) to avoid tripping the safety valve. The first 1/4 turn is the most critical. If these don't work you will need a professional.

1) If the blower is running; the thermostat is OK and you have 12 volts DC at the furnace.

TURN OFF THE FURNACE at the thermostat and pull the fuse in the panel.
The reason is that after 3 no-light attempts; the control panel locks out and no further troubleshooting can be done.

2) If there is a feeble amount of air coming out of the registers, you could have a bug nest in the squirrel cage fan and it is not turning fast enough to close the "sail" switch that routes power to the spark control. You can try blasting compressed air into the intake port (lower one if I recall correctly) and see if that will dislodge the nest. If that fails, you will need to "operate" as the motor could be rusted or bad. Call a professional.

3) If there is good air flow out of the registers, Then you are looking at the sail switch, control panel, solenoid valve, ... Call a professional.

Good luck and I hope it is something simple.
Herk
Attached Files
File Type: pdf suburbantech.pdf (804.8 KB, 39 views)
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2013, 11:45 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 7
Furnace help...

Ok, I am new to the RV world although I did own a pop up years ago. I never needed the furnace with the pop up but did find that I needed it a couple of weeks ago in my 2011 FR mini lite. I moved the thermostat and there was no response from the furnace at all. Gas is on, unit was running off a Honda 2000 generator, and the fuses were OK. I will try to open the tanks slowly and will pull and re-install the fuse. Is there something so simple I am missing it and losing my mind? Most people bring me their problems and I fix them, but this had me baffled at 2 am when it was 45 that night! Going out again this weekend but the wife might need the furnace running at night. Thanks in advance.
__________________
RVneeds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2013, 12:44 AM   #6
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by RVneeds View Post
Ok, I am new to the RV world although I did own a pop up years ago. I never needed the furnace with the pop up but did find that I needed it a couple of weeks ago in my 2011 FR mini lite. I moved the thermostat and there was no response from the furnace at all. Gas is on, unit was running off a Honda 2000 generator, and the fuses were OK. I will try to open the tanks slowly and will pull and re-install the fuse. Is there something so simple I am missing it and losing my mind? Most people bring me their problems and I fix them, but this had me baffled at 2 am when it was 45 that night! Going out again this weekend but the wife might need the furnace running at night. Thanks in advance.
Does it not do anything ?
No clicking?
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2013, 07:47 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 7
Gas is on and all 3 burners burn good and blue. Fuse is good, ref works fine. I did get the furnace to turn on the blower by pushing the thermostat up as high as it would go. The inside temp was 90+ so the furnace did not light. After a minute or two the blower stopped blowing. Tonight when I get home and the temp drops into the 60's, I'll try to get the furnace to light. I tried the radio as I walked by and it was dead. I did pull the fuse and put it back in. Then the radio worked??? I assume that if the room temp is above the upper limit on the switch, the furnace will not light, correct?
__________________
RVneeds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2013, 07:56 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 6,755
Quote:
I assume that if the room temp is above the upper limit on the switch, the furnace will not light, correct?
Take the t-stat off the wall and short the two wires together. Actual temp won't matter!
__________________
rockfordroo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2013, 08:30 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 7
I was going to do that to bypass the t-stat. This is a 2011 that was used 4 times prior to my purchasing it from a private/friend of the family. I really don't think they ever used the furnace. The outdoor grill is still in the box, awning like new, almost un-beleivable is it's condition.
__________________

__________________
RVneeds is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:48 PM.