Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-06-2016, 12:53 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 8
Suburban furnace will not operate.

Hi, I have a Wildwood X-lite 28' travel trailer and I am recently having problems with the propane furnace. It is a Suburban SF-30FQ S/N 134403003 furnace that will not start. The thermostat is a Dometic single zone LCD that runs both the furnace and A/C. When I turn the thermostat on to furnace I can a click in the Roof top A/C unit and in the furnace as well. Power seems to be getting to the furnace but does not go to the blower or ignition. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.
__________________

__________________
gregk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2016, 04:12 PM   #2
Head Rambler
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southwest Alabama
Posts: 3,404
Has the furnace ever worked?
have you checked the fuses?
How did you determine that power 'seems' to be going to the furnace?

If it's never worked it could be that the switch in the furnace is off.
__________________

__________________
Salem 29RKSS Pushing a 2500 Mega-Cab CTD!
Gotta go campin!
Bama Rambler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2016, 07:20 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 8
Hi, The furnace worked fine last month and I did check the fuse which was fine. When I was checking for power around the switch at the furnace I accidentally crossed 2 wires which blew the fuse. So power is getting to the furnace.
__________________
gregk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2016, 07:33 PM   #4
Head Rambler
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southwest Alabama
Posts: 3,404
Did you connect the thermostat wires together to see if that would run it?
__________________
Salem 29RKSS Pushing a 2500 Mega-Cab CTD!
Gotta go campin!
Bama Rambler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2016, 08:46 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 8
No I did not try this. Just tie together the 2 thermostat wires from the furnace. They are the smaller wires (I believe blue in colour) will this make it run all the time and will it ignite the burner?
__________________
gregk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2016, 08:57 PM   #6
Cyber Phrenologist
 
Radio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Fayetteville, GA
Posts: 1,624
I love furnace threads as mine has NEVER worked right. Carry on!
__________________
KU4OJ
Admin at www.openroadsradio.net, part of the Social Knowledge network.
"RVing and Amateur Radio served up on the same plate"
2008 (or is it 2009?) Rockwood 8280SS - 2007 F-150
Lot's of mostly Kenwood radios

Radio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2016, 10:43 AM   #7
Head Rambler
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southwest Alabama
Posts: 3,404
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregk View Post
No I did not try this. Just tie together the 2 thermostat wires from the furnace. They are the smaller wires (I believe blue in colour) will this make it run all the time and will it ignite the burner?
Yes they are blue. All the control board in the A/C does is connect them together thru a relay to get the furnace to run.
__________________
Salem 29RKSS Pushing a 2500 Mega-Cab CTD!
Gotta go campin!
Bama Rambler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2016, 06:43 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 8
Hi, I tied the thermostat wires together with the same result. All I here is a click but nothing. At least we can rule out the thermostat.
__________________
gregk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2016, 11:18 AM   #9
Head Rambler
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southwest Alabama
Posts: 3,404
That's what I was going for. Seeing if it was the furnace or the thermostat.

Now that you've narrowed it to the furnace, you can concentrate on that.

Since you're hearing a click it's getting power to the time delay relay. I assume that's what you hear clicking. But the blower motor isn't running, right?

If you can access the blower motor, I'd hook 12 volts to it directly and see if it runs. If it does, then it leads to the relay/control board.
__________________
Salem 29RKSS Pushing a 2500 Mega-Cab CTD!
Gotta go campin!
Bama Rambler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2016, 12:28 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 8
Yes, the clicking sound is the time delay relay on the circuit board getting power. The blower did not come on at anytime (even when I bypassed the thermostat). I will see if I can access the blower wires and try that. Not much room to work in.
__________________

__________________
gregk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
furnace, suburban

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:34 PM.