Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-18-2018, 07:29 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
DanKellar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 10
Technology Rant

I'm a new Flagstaff 832FLBS with a large Toshiba TV that disappears behind the front living room "fireplace." I've been full-timing now for about 4 weeks, and I still cannot get the TV to display anything other than 480p. I've checked every display setting I can find to no avail. In addition the iRV Technologies entertainment system controller is an unsolved mystery. I can get some FM stations, I can play a DVD (at 480p), but beyond that, the system is a mystery. The omnidirectional TV antenna on the roof needs to be turned on in order to work, however, the green "on light's" location was discovered this morning, because I was wondering if maybe I needed to buy some co-ax cable to connect the TV to one of the two wall outlets located nearby.

To you Forest River Dealers out there, what a cherry job for some high-schooler whose sole job would be to walk buyers through the electronics of their new rig!

Can anybody help me with the Toshiba Chrome-Cast TV and 1080p viewing, or should I dump the TV and buy a new one??

Sorry for the rant!
__________________

DanKellar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2018, 07:39 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1,179
Can you actually get 1080 thru your first device? What are you using for signal? Park cable if thats it could be your problem. Your TV as long as its set to get everything will only display what it gets.
I assume you have selected 1080 on your tv setup screen?
__________________

donniedu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2018, 07:43 AM   #3
Site Team
 
Flybob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 7,749
You are likely limited by the source.
__________________

2015 Freedom Express 248RBS
TV 2015 Silverado HD2500 Duramax
TST Tire Monitors
Honda 2000I + Companion
2 100W solar panels
Flybob is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2018, 07:56 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Portage wi
Posts: 599
If the dvd/blue ray isn’t running through an hdmi cable you won’t get 1080

Most will detect the signal coming in and optimize for that signal
__________________
2011 gray wolf 25rb
Jmkjr72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2018, 07:58 AM   #5
Junior Member
 
DanKellar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 10
Thanks for your response. There is nowhere on the TV where one can select a display setting (other than the usual "movie" "dynamic" etc). However, it plays 480p regardless of the DVD's HD recording. I have never used a park's cable, nor have I been able to discover how to use the antenna on the roof. It may be a function of the iRV entertainment controller...I'm stumped.
DanKellar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2018, 08:02 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2,786
Best I can tell it sounds like you are only using the DVD player as a source. If you look on the back of your TV, you'll almost certainly find that your connection is with a standard RCA- yellow plug utilizing the composite input. Max of 480 resolution using that. It's possible your DVD player doesn't have an HDMI output. If it does, you can buy an HDMI cable and use that in lieu of the composite cable and you will get either 720p or 1080i/p, depending on max resolution output of the DVD player.
dustman_stx is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2018, 08:11 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
B and B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Wilmot Twp, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,623
Quote:
Originally Posted by dustman_stx View Post
Best I can tell it sounds like you are only using the DVD player as a source. If you look on the back of your TV, you'll almost certainly find that your connection is with a standard RCA- yellow plug utilizing the composite input. Max of 480 resolution using that. It's possible your DVD player doesn't have an HDMI output. If it does, you can buy an HDMI cable and use that in lieu of the composite cable and you will get either 720p or 1080i/p, depending on max resolution output of the DVD player.
What he said, my Rockwood's where both wired for composite. Grab a HDMI cable.
B and B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2018, 08:13 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
RSchleder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,397
The only time you will receive 1080p is from your "off-air" antenna locking onto a station broadcasting in 1080p. Cable found in campgrounds may, or may not, even be digital so there's NO hope for HD there. As far as your entertainment system goes, if it is not a "blue ray" DVD player( and it probably is NOT) connected to your TV with a HDMI cable, you will not receive HD. As stated above, your television will only show the level of picture it receives from the 'feed". IMHO, you do not have a defective tv, you have a non-HD feed going to it. Also be aware, HD signals from broadcasting stations are very directional. You will need your antenna booster turned on and the antenna pointed at the station for you to receive that stations HD signal.
__________________
Days camping (2016)----181 days
Days camping (2017) --- 82 days
2016 Wildcat MAXX 28RKX (33' TT), 2007 13' Scamp
2015 Ram Laramie Hemi, w/air suspension
30 years RV'ing
11 different RV's
RSchleder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2018, 08:33 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
B and B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Wilmot Twp, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,623
OP,

When you are looking at the HD issues make sure you check cable dress on the movable TV. My Rockwood went down and shorted out the AC pinched by the tracks, blew the fuse on Winegard amp. This was the first time putting it up and down at home 3 hours after pickup from the dealer.
B and B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2018, 09:05 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 55
The resolution for DVDs is 480p. Many existing DVD players will upconvert that to 720p or 1080p -- however the source is still a 480p source. To put it mildly, iRV units are a little less than state of the art, so I would imagine that it is not upconverting.

And are you sure that the antenna needs to be turned on to work? In my 233s, there is a small button that turns on the signal booster. The antenna works regardless.

If you could take a picture of the back of your TV where all of the cables connect to the TV, it would be easier to help troubleshoot.

As far as the Chromecast functionality, check out this link. You'll need a wireless network to get it working.
__________________

__________________
2018 Rockwood Roo 233s
2011 Infiniti QX56
AustinChad is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:54 PM.