Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-13-2016, 03:46 PM   #1
Member
 
Medic97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Missouri
Posts: 51
TechnoRV "Alfa" Booster and Router Configuration Question

Dear Forum members, I need some assistance

I am at Stone Mountain Campground for the winter and have a lousy WiFi connection. I purchased the Alfa booster and router from TechnoRV website with hopes of improving my WiFi connection.

After setting things up, I am able to properly connect to the campground's WiFi but unable to get internet access using these devices. I have informed TechnoRV support and they too are stumped and have offered a refund. However, this does not resolve my initial problems and there has to be a simple setting that appears to be escaping us all. Any ideas that anyone can provide will be appreciated.

Has anyone used these devices before? Do they actualy work on other sites? Is there something unique to Stone Mountain? (I doubt this last one since I am able to see numerous other WiFi settings in Network Settings of my laptop belongin to other RVrs.

Please contact me if you have any ideas or suggestions.

Thank you all in advance for your feedback
__________________

__________________
Robert & Wendy M
5er: 2016 Columbus 320RS - TV: 2015 F250 6.7L V8 Diesel
Part-timer; Looking forward to fulltime...
Medic97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2016, 05:42 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
WestCoastRV'er's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 223
Quote:
Originally Posted by Medic97 View Post
Dear Forum members, I need some assistance

I am at Stone Mountain Campground for the winter and have a lousy WiFi connection. I purchased the Alfa booster and router from TechnoRV website with hopes of improving my WiFi connection.

After setting things up, I am able to properly connect to the campground's WiFi but unable to get internet access using these devices. I have informed TechnoRV support and they too are stumped and have offered a refund. However, this does not resolve my initial problems and there has to be a simple setting that appears to be escaping us all. Any ideas that anyone can provide will be appreciated.

Has anyone used these devices before? Do they actualy work on other sites? Is there something unique to Stone Mountain? (I doubt this last one since I am able to see numerous other WiFi settings in Network Settings of my laptop belongin to other RVrs.

Please contact me if you have any ideas or suggestions.

Thank you all in advance for your feedback
Not familiar with TechnoRV products but I have the Alfa R36 with a AWUS036NHR USB wifi card for a setup. They are quite simple to use.
Alfa R36 & USB WIFI card

These are the instructions I used for setup.
R36 Setup

.
.
.
__________________

__________________

2011 2902ss Rockwood Ultralight
2008 Grand Cherokee 3.0L Diesel (255 hp @ 2900 rpm / 430 lb-ft @ 1,400-2,800 rpm)
3P ProPride Hitch
RV Mods
Wandering RV Life
WestCoastRV'er is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2016, 07:32 PM   #3
Member
 
Medic97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Missouri
Posts: 51
Thank you WestCoastRV'er for the response. I used similar intructions and also see "Connected" on the status page to the camp's WiFi. But still no Internet access. All network connections also show no internet access. That is the problem.

Are you satisfied with the R36 booster? Has it worked for you at multiple locations?

I need to decide if I will keep this product or return it.
__________________
Robert & Wendy M
5er: 2016 Columbus 320RS - TV: 2015 F250 6.7L V8 Diesel
Part-timer; Looking forward to fulltime...
Medic97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2016, 10:49 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
WestCoastRV'er's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 223
Quote:
Originally Posted by Medic97 View Post
Thank you WestCoastRV'er for the response. I used similar intructions and also see "Connected" on the status page to the camp's WiFi. But still no Internet access. All network connections also show no internet access. That is the problem.

Are you satisfied with the R36 booster? Has it worked for you at multiple locations?

I need to decide if I will keep this product or return it.
If you are not getting any DNS Servers in WAN connections you can try using google's DNS Servers.

8.8.8.8
8.8.4.4

Does the rv park wifi have a sign-in page? start page..
Is it open wifi or do you need to setup a password?

.
.
__________________

2011 2902ss Rockwood Ultralight
2008 Grand Cherokee 3.0L Diesel (255 hp @ 2900 rpm / 430 lb-ft @ 1,400-2,800 rpm)
3P ProPride Hitch
RV Mods
Wandering RV Life
WestCoastRV'er is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2016, 11:31 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
WestCoastRV'er's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 223
Are you satisfied with the R36 booster? Has it worked for you at multiple locations?

I need to decide if I will keep this product or return it.[/QUOTE]

This is an upgrade to my existing 8dbi omni antenna, 2 watt sunhans using an old linksys wrt54g dd-wrt router. My new setup is using a 15 dbi flat panel directional antenna with the Alfa R36 connected to the Alfa AWUS036NHR v2 USB WIFI adapter. Only been able to test it at home and work on multiple networks ranging from Open, WPA2 & WEP. Seems to work well as long as the usb wifi is at a different level and as far away as possible to eliminate interference between the two antennas.

Once the weather warms up, I'm going to attach the new antenna to the TV retractable antenna so that I can change the direction from inside the trailer and do testing at my local rv park where I already know my limitations from the previous setup. With the antenna set outside and above most obstacles I believe this should work well. At home I was able to pick up almost 50 networks, which most were locked but it was definitely more than before.

For those that are not technical, WIFI Ranger is a really good option. I really like how you can configure the router to use wifi and hotspots to share all devices. They have many youtube videos and heard good things about their support. The only drawback is cost.

Hope you figure out your problem.

.
.
__________________

2011 2902ss Rockwood Ultralight
2008 Grand Cherokee 3.0L Diesel (255 hp @ 2900 rpm / 430 lb-ft @ 1,400-2,800 rpm)
3P ProPride Hitch
RV Mods
Wandering RV Life
WestCoastRV'er is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2016, 12:32 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Evereddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Pfafftown NC
Posts: 2,065
Start with some basics. I assume you are using a laptop. Take the laptop near a wifi spot in the campground (preferably the one you are trying to use) and get on the wifi and then see if the internet works. Do you need a password to use the wifi, and did you enter that correctly? Don't use your booster. This will help narrow down if this is a campground issue or your booster. It's possible that even though the wifi is working the wifi spot you are in has no internet behind it. Talk to officials at the campground as to the status of the wifi and internet. As was suggested in a post before mine it may be that you have to sign in to some page before it lets you have internet. I was in that campground last summer but don't remember much about the wifi. We usually give up on campground wifi and use our hotspot.

Maybe take the laptop to a McDonald's, or Starbucks, or library and try that wifi and see if it works.
__________________
Evereddie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2016, 08:42 AM   #7
Member
 
Medic97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Missouri
Posts: 51
Thanks again for the responsse guys.

The campground WiFi is open and no password is required. I do have internet access as evident by these responses using their WiFi but it is not reliable and drops often. That is why I need the booster to setup my own hotspot/WiFI in the RV. It connects correctly to campground WiFi but no internet access.
__________________
Robert & Wendy M
5er: 2016 Columbus 320RS - TV: 2015 F250 6.7L V8 Diesel
Part-timer; Looking forward to fulltime...
Medic97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2016, 09:22 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
WestCoastRV'er's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 223
Quote:
Originally Posted by WestCoastRV'er View Post
Not familiar with TechnoRV products but I have the Alfa R36 with a AWUS036NHR USB wifi card for a setup. They are quite simple to use.
Alfa R36 & USB WIFI card

These are the instructions I used for setup.
R36 Setup

.
.
.
Try manually setting the DNS Servers in Step #6 of the easy setup.
DNS 1: 8.8.8.8
DNS2: 8.8.4.4

Another test you can perform is connecting directly to the R36 using a network cable. This would eliminate you internal wifi setup.

.
.
__________________

2011 2902ss Rockwood Ultralight
2008 Grand Cherokee 3.0L Diesel (255 hp @ 2900 rpm / 430 lb-ft @ 1,400-2,800 rpm)
3P ProPride Hitch
RV Mods
Wandering RV Life
WestCoastRV'er is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2016, 09:38 AM   #9
Member
 
Medic97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Missouri
Posts: 51
Just tried that a few mins ago. Still shows "Connected" for status but still have no internet access.

Tried the ethernet cable connecting directly to booster. This does work but I have to be tethered to the device by a 1.5ft of cord. The booster needs to be attached to window in order to have a line of view to campground's access points.

This is what lead me to believe that it must be a setting in the "advanced" config that I am missing. Either that or the router is my problem here.
__________________
Robert & Wendy M
5er: 2016 Columbus 320RS - TV: 2015 F250 6.7L V8 Diesel
Part-timer; Looking forward to fulltime...
Medic97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2016, 01:36 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
WestCoastRV'er's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 223
Quote:
Originally Posted by Medic97 View Post
Just tried that a few mins ago. Still shows "Connected" for status but still have no internet access.

Tried the ethernet cable connecting directly to booster. This does work but I have to be tethered to the device by a 1.5ft of cord. The booster needs to be attached to window in order to have a line of view to campground's access points.

This is what lead me to believe that it must be a setting in the "advanced" config that I am missing. Either that or the router is my problem here.
When you say connected to the booster, to be sure you are talking Alfa R36 and not the WIFI USB device.
__________________

__________________

2011 2902ss Rockwood Ultralight
2008 Grand Cherokee 3.0L Diesel (255 hp @ 2900 rpm / 430 lb-ft @ 1,400-2,800 rpm)
3P ProPride Hitch
RV Mods
Wandering RV Life
WestCoastRV'er is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:47 PM.