Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-14-2012, 10:00 PM   #1
Junior Member
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3
Red face Television Signal Problems

Having good signal with some channels when changing to another channel it has mix pixel and picture freeze I can stand up and get between the antenna handle and TV and the picture gets clear move away and freezes up again also the TV in the bedroom when you turn it on the TV in front room that was clear will pixel and freeze up. I have all ready changed all cable ends and took out the splitter. could I have bad cables.... Need Help Thanks Dave

1999chevy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 11:09 PM   #2
Senior Member
jimh's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Lake Charles, La.
Posts: 1,531
intermittent tv resception problem solved
this is what i found with mine. check this out.

others have found connections not made at the box where u turn on the antenna amplifier. i'd check those connections before trying to change wires.
u don't have to go in to tighten the nut. the one on the inside is perty much fixed. the outside one can be tightened.

jimh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 11:10 PM   #3
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
TURBS's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,205
Like Jim said was the antennae booster on?
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 05:32 AM   #4
Senior Member
cardinal4fun's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Eastern Iowa
Posts: 314
With the digital signal its harder to get and keep a good signal when moving channels as station location is different. I would pull the wall plate off and check the cable connection between the ant. and wall plate. Make sure all connections are wrench tight not just finger tight. You may want to get the digital add on for the antennia. You may also while camping ask your fellow campers how may stations and the quality of those stations. This would give you an idea if you truely have a problem. I fought this same type of problem for the last few years and have decided to go the way of satilite tv this year.
3500 Ram 5.9l diesel
08 35 RLT Cardinal
5th Airborne Pin Box
cardinal4fun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 08:11 AM   #5
Senior Member
jimh's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Lake Charles, La.
Posts: 1,531
my tv doesn't have a signal strength meter in it but my converter box does. i usually use the converter to scan the channels and use the signal strength meter to zero in. then i switch it off and scan the channels on the tv. i use this methoid when in frenge areas. in other areas, i usually look and see what direction everyone else is pointing and use that as a starting pt.

i have not found any really hard and fast easy way to zero in yet.
jimh is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:19 AM.