Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-02-2013, 12:22 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 89
thermostat control for rooftop AC?

My dometic rooftop AC unit only has high Med low cool and then fan settings . Is there a way I can modify or upgrade it to have a thermostat so it doesn't run all the time?

Thx
__________________

__________________
Jim Scofield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2013, 12:27 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
camper1999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 778
it should have an auto setting also, mine does, that will shut the unit on and off and only runy when cooling
__________________

__________________
2012 Cedar Creek Silverback 29RE
2011 GMC 2500HD Diesel
camper1999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2013, 02:13 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 89
No it doesn't which is why I am posting for help
__________________
Jim Scofield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2013, 02:16 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
fonzie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Eastern Ontario
Posts: 3,237
Do you have a dometic digital thermostat?
__________________
Fonzie
2011 Rockwood 8319SS with ProPride 3P hitch/GoodYear Marathons/TST TPMS 507
2008 F250 Lariat CC SB 6.8L V10 4.10 axle ratio (NITTO TERRA GRAPLER G2 LT275/65R20E)
Yamaha 3000iseb generator:Progressive Ind. EMS-HW30C : Eastern Ontario
Nights Camped: 2011(21) 2012(36) 2013 (17) 2014 (18) 2015 (18) 2016 (36) 2017 (32)
fonzie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2013, 02:34 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 89
No. Not related. This AC unit is bones
__________________
Jim Scofield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2013, 03:00 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: X
Posts: 2,781
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Scofield View Post
My dometic rooftop AC unit only has high Med low cool and then fan settings . Is there a way I can modify or upgrade it to have a thermostat so it doesn't run all the time?

Thx
I doubt that there is, but get the model number and serial and call Dometic Customer Service and ask them. They're very nice folks.
__________________
BarryD0706 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2013, 04:01 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: X
Posts: 2,781
I was just thinking. For the lo/med/high cooling settings, when you change it from one to the other is it really three distinct positions on the knob, or is it just a continuous range knob with those markings to help you understand it?

If it's continuous, then it really is a thermostat already (although perhaps not the kind you want). If it is continuous and it runs all the time, even on Lo, then perhaps your AC can't keep up with the heat load. What does a thermometer say its getting down to when the AC has been on for a long time?
__________________
BarryD0706 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2013, 04:47 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 89
It has only 3 settings. No thermostat
__________________
Jim Scofield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 02:43 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Splendora, Texas
Posts: 1,229
I have a Dometic AC in the bedroom, it is a second unit and it has setting like yours, it is 13,5000 BTU. The main AC is also Dometic, 15,000 BTU, with thermostat.
__________________
whj77372 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 03:10 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
4Jeeperz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 20
Hi Jim,
I was able to do this mod to our A/C. Got the info from a Casita forum. Sorry I can't link due to a hard drive replacement.
But basically I had to add some solenoid inline to the AC that was controlled by one new wire we pulled to a digital heat and cool thermostat.
I am no electrician but the thermostat tells the solenoid to power the AC and then turns it off for a minimum of 5 minutes before it can go back on.
Does it work? Yeah
Is it safe? Dunno, hope so! Try at your own risk!
If interested I can post pic of solenoid and how it was installed.
I wish I could give you the link with the full Casita forum write up which told what size wires etc.
Steve
__________________

__________________
4Jeeperz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:10 PM.