Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-25-2012, 12:09 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 4
TV cable hook up question

On my camper i have a outside hookup for a cable connection and on the inside I have one cable connection next to the signal booster with the 12v plug. Normally i just have out side ant. and no cable. does the cable come in threw the same plug as the ant?. Because right now I cant get it to work..

Thanks for any help on this..
__________________

__________________
2007 Forest River Surveyor 30'
dknight903 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2012, 12:15 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 855
Is the power center on for the antenna? If so turn it off, they do not work well together.
__________________

__________________
donn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2012, 01:52 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 4
Yes the power booster is off.
__________________
2007 Forest River Surveyor 30'
dknight903 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2012, 02:14 PM   #4
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
Several things need to happen in order to use cable.

1) The Amplifier Switch must be off. This switch disconnects the roof antenna and connects the cable connector on the side of the camper to your distribution network in the camper.

2) The TV has to be on "tuner" if the TV is connected to the coax connector on the wall plate or has a coax that goes into the wall.

3) You must "search" for channels using the auto search feature of the TV and MAKE SURE you do not use "AIR" - you MUST use "CABLE" when you search.

It should work now.
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2012, 03:23 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 4
Hey guys thanks for all of your input. I found that some how the tv will not pick up any signal threw the coax connector.
__________________
2007 Forest River Surveyor 30'
dknight903 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2012, 03:55 PM   #6
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
Might be time to take it off the wall. Before you do, make sure you are connecting to the correct hookup outside. In my camper, there is a SAT connection that does NOT got to the TV. You must used the one labeled CBL.

Here is the manual for the wall plate and where the coax cables are supposed to be connected on the wall plate.

The Lower one is cable and the Upper one is Satellite.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	CBL and SAT inputs.jpg
Views:	189
Size:	52.7 KB
ID:	14395  
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Winegard Wall PLate Amp.pdf (143.1 KB, 100 views)
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2012, 12:22 AM   #7
Junior Member
 
bornerdm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: North West
Posts: 16
Just went through my cable connections on our Rockwood, because the picture was snowie, and found three of the cable connections were coming off. Some were on the splitter and some were on the power switch, only one connector was attached correctly. I took the plastic off the connectors and pushed them to the proper location, crimped them, then cut the center wire to the proper lenght. Have a pretty good picture now, but still hae to check the connections where the TV hookups are.
__________________
bornerdm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2012, 04:16 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Namchief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 145
I only have one coax hookup on the outside, at least that I have found. next to the water hookup. on the inside I have 2 coax hookups in the kitchen/ livingroom. bottom one says "Ant/Cable" with a push button next to it with a light(antennae booster) and a coax male above it with ""Sat" on it. Is this so I can have a satellite dish outside and reciever inside hooked up to the Sat hookup and the Ant Cable hooked up to the back of the satellite receiver so I can have Sat tv or OTA tv and if so what is sent to the coax hookups in front bedroom and the cargo area tv. I have a 32 in LED in the kitchen/living area and reversed the sleeping position in front bed so I could see tv, until i figure out how to mount TV in front bedroom.
__________________
Time spent 2012 in TT 32 days so far and 21 Planned days this Fall with mini trips in between
2009 Chevy Silverado 1500
2012 XLR Hyper Lite 27HFS
1999 Yamaha Grizzly
1996 HD Dyna Wide Glide
Namchief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2017, 08:17 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 5
I am new to rv cable hookups. Do I need a cable box like I have at home or do I just connect the cable from the rv to the campground?
__________________
cspanky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2017, 08:23 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
bubbles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,563
No cable box. Just connect the cable to your unit (camper) set TV for Cable input and run channel scan. Your antenna booster must be off.
__________________

__________________
bubbles is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
led pad

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:33 AM.