Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-15-2013, 09:16 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: X
Posts: 2,781
I used to have the same problem. Took me forever. You're missing the essential tool: signal meter. I bought the Triplett version from Amazon.

The problem is that the receiver itself is too slow to respond to a new signal. With that meter, you can do it almost instantly. (I also have the DP AR app for iPhone which gets me started.) I seldom need to change elevation or skew. With the meter, I can usually do that just by changing the level of the tripod legs.
__________________

__________________
BarryD0706 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2013, 09:22 AM   #12
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryD0706 View Post
The problem is that the receiver itself is too slow to respond to a new signal.

I seldom need to change elevation or skew.

With the meter, I can usually do that just by changing the level of the tripod legs.
Correct
__________________

__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2013, 09:43 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Newnan Ga
Posts: 35
Good stuff thanks
__________________
Hawg Hunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2013, 10:31 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
Poppy94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 235
i just put my dish receiver in the TH, plug into the factory entertainment center system, connect my winegard carryout, hit a switch and a couple of buttons, and BAM......tv on demand. <10 mins. .
makes momma happy to watch the Texas Rangers and Fox News when out and about. low maintenance and easy set up! double bonus for me.
__________________
Poppy94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2013, 10:35 AM   #15
Senior Member
 
cpaulsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Brookings
Posts: 502
Forgot to mention.....my dish was free....came from a cable company who installed cable to a house and the owner wanted the dish gone.
__________________
cpaulsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2013, 12:46 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
DougP47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 327
Here is a pic of my satellite mounted.

Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20130316_004527.jpg
Views:	98
Size:	19.5 KB
ID:	25726
__________________


Ram 1500
Big Horn
Hemi 5.7 2011
Salem 30KQBSS 2012
DougP47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2013, 02:36 AM   #17
Member
 
Indy Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by f1100turbo View Post

I've had to redo azimuth and skew plenty my friend.

I change it before I even leave so when I get there.

Setup tripod
Level
Aim
Watch tv

Ps I installed my first satellite dish in 1995-ish.

And my parents had one of those 16' "dishes" back in the 80's
16' dish, my parents had it also...how I miss the non-scrambled, free channels available then as a teenager.
__________________
Indy Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2013, 04:23 AM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Newnan Ga
Posts: 35
Doug P47, how do you get a signal if the dish is mouned to our roof and you are parked under some trees ? Thanks
__________________
Hawg Hunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2013, 08:22 AM   #19
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 22
Directv

Went to camping world and had them install a covered dish on the roof that works in all kinds of weather and you don't have to go up on the roof with the broom to remove the snow. Were hooked to the the to recievers from the house and still using the progaming from the house. Hated going to campgrounds and hoping their cable systems worked or not.
__________________
grizz427 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2013, 09:13 AM   #20
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hawg Hunter View Post
Doug P47, how do you get a signal if the dish is mouned to our roof and you are parked under some trees ? Thanks
He doesn't prolly get a good signal parked under tree's.

Good reason not to have it mounted I guess.

Turbs
__________________

__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:20 PM.