Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-04-2014, 06:58 PM   #1
TBT
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Coconut Creek, Florida
Posts: 16
TV Trips GFCI

Hello, I purchased a 2013 WorknPlay Toyhuler that came equipped with a 32 flat screen KONICA LCD TV. ( never heard of this manufacturer) the TV is on the GFCI circuit and trips the GFCI breaker every time I plug it in. When the TV is unplugged the circuit breaker does not trip. Anyone have any ideas as to what might be the issue?
__________________

__________________
Ted-n-Marlene
2008 Ford F250 6.4 TD
2008 22' Pathfinder Bay Boat
2009 HD FLHX Streetglide
2013 Work&Play 25 UDT
TBT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2014, 07:02 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Crawfordville, Florida
Posts: 605
When you plug in another appliance .....it works ok...doesn't trip?
__________________

__________________
Jerry. Vietnam vet.
Retired
jgahlhoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2014, 07:17 PM   #3
TBT
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Coconut Creek, Florida
Posts: 16
I have plugged in the coffee pot with no problem..I have also plugged in the TV with an extension cord to the bedroom outlet and have had no issue with tripping breakers. I think it is has something to do with the electronics in the TV that the GFCI is sensitve too, just looking for other ideas..
__________________
Ted-n-Marlene
2008 Ford F250 6.4 TD
2008 22' Pathfinder Bay Boat
2009 HD FLHX Streetglide
2013 Work&Play 25 UDT
TBT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2014, 07:58 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Crawfordville, Florida
Posts: 605
Has the tv worked in the past? Did it happen to get damp or wet? Does the power cord pull out on tv or is it hardwired? What is the watt draw for the tv?
__________________
Jerry. Vietnam vet.
Retired
jgahlhoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2014, 08:17 PM   #5
Phat Phrog Stunt Crew
 
elind's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Upper Penisula Michigan / Arizona
Posts: 2,647
Quote:
Originally Posted by TBT View Post
I have plugged in the coffee pot with no problem..I have also plugged in the TV with an extension cord to the bedroom outlet and have had no issue with tripping breakers. I think it is has something to do with the electronics in the TV that the GFCI is sensitve too, just looking for other ideas..
The circuit breaker kicks out when too many amps are being used on a circuit. But the GFCI trips when power feeds into to a ground wire for a split second. I would say there's something going on with the TV electronics.
__________________
Ed & Ruthann / Toby and Tucker
2014 GMC Sierra Crewcab 2500 Duramax
2014 Wildcat 327ck
elind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2014, 08:31 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
fast murray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: SD
Posts: 440
Maybe take the cord off the TV and see if the cord alone trips. It's possible that the cord is bad. That would be an easy fix.
__________________
2004 Wildcat 28BH
2012 Ram 2500 CCSB 6.7CTD
fast murray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2014, 05:58 AM   #7
TBT
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Coconut Creek, Florida
Posts: 16
Thank you very much for the troubleshooting tips.. I will check the TV cord first and if that doesn't fix it I will try plugging in another similar size TV to eliminate the cause..
__________________
Ted-n-Marlene
2008 Ford F250 6.4 TD
2008 22' Pathfinder Bay Boat
2009 HD FLHX Streetglide
2013 Work&Play 25 UDT
TBT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2014, 02:39 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
BandJCarm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Between Pickles Gap and Toad Suck, AR
Posts: 5,366
Hmmm.

My GFCI circuit is on the entry door side of the Camper. That area has several double elec plugs. If I plug ANY two things into ANY of them, the GFCI trips! It'll handle most things that are plugged in, so long as they're alone. The outside plug in is in this loop also. Same results.

Beats me why. I don't know why they can't make higher amp circuit breakers for each circuit.
BandJCarm is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2014, 03:01 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Roxboro, NC
Posts: 267
Quote:
Originally Posted by elind View Post
The circuit breaker kicks out when too many amps are being used on a circuit. But the GFCI trips when power feeds into to a ground wire for a split second. I would say there's something going on with the TV electronics.
Master electrician here, I agree problem is in the TV or the cord to the TV. It only takes 4 miliamps of lost to trip it out.
I would replace the TV and be done with the issue.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Forest River Forums mobile app
__________________
2007 GMC 2500 Duramax Crew Cab LB
2008 5th Wheel Cardinal 36LE
R Whitlow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2014, 04:58 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Georgetown, TX
Posts: 298
How about we just get rid if the GFI outlet?
__________________

cadman99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:15 PM.