Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-25-2019, 02:43 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 10
Warning about Direct TV/ATT receivers

If you turn off a receiver (camping, summer home etc.) it will never work again, you need a new box! Worse, they don't even tell you when you call in to activate and deactivate receivers, its just a terrible surprise! Run to another provider, this change is horrible.
__________________

lilitaliangal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2019, 02:47 PM   #2
Site Team
 
Mr. Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Grayson County, Texas
Posts: 10,990
Quote:
Originally Posted by lilitaliangal View Post
If you turn off a receiver (camping, summer home etc.) it will never work again, you need a new box! Worse, they don't even tell you when you call in to activate and deactivate receivers, its just a terrible surprise! Run to another provider, this change is horrible.
What do you mean by turn it off? ... and where did you hear this?
I turned mine off Tuesday and hauled it 80 miles and turned it back on. It still works! I turned it off and back on today... still works. What?
__________________

__________________
SEARCH is your friend!
FR Wildcat 295RSX / GMC Sierra

Nights Camped: '13 = 49/'14 = 74/'15 = 74/'16 = 85/'17 = 110/'18 =111/'19 = 40; booked = 0
Mr. Dan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2019, 03:06 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 10
We have our units deactivated. After 2 hours on the phone we find out AT&T has a so-called new system that will not allow deactivated receivers to be turned back on, you need a new one. This is directly from the tech who had to come and install a new one for our rig. This is not just turn off turn on this is deactivate. We're going to go with the dish DirecTV is terrible
lilitaliangal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2019, 03:11 PM   #4
Site Team
 
Mr. Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Grayson County, Texas
Posts: 10,990
OK... by "turn off a receiver" you meant deactivate your service, right? ... and it takes new hardware to reactivate, right?
__________________
SEARCH is your friend!
FR Wildcat 295RSX / GMC Sierra

Nights Camped: '13 = 49/'14 = 74/'15 = 74/'16 = 85/'17 = 110/'18 =111/'19 = 40; booked = 0
Mr. Dan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2019, 03:12 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Iwannacamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 6,462
I had Direct tv for 20 years and I never heard of this. I did have a receiver that was unplugged for months and I had to reactivate when I decided to use it.
__________________
2017 Puma 297RLSS
2005 Ram 2500 4X4 diesel SMOKER!!
I love puns, irony and tasteless jokes...
Iwannacamp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2019, 03:23 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 10
Just trying to share the hassle we just went through. This was from the tech himself that this is their new policy. We didn't turn it off we deactivated it so we didn't have to pay for it over the winter. Deactivate not turn off
lilitaliangal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2019, 03:25 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 10
Yes. We had to come home and have a tech come out to reinstall it. Needed a whole new box. Apparently their customer service does not tell you this when they reactivate it'd. This has been since the AT&T merger and this is their way of generating business or continuing contracts I guess.
lilitaliangal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2019, 03:30 PM   #8
Site Team
 
Mr. Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Grayson County, Texas
Posts: 10,990
OK, thanks for the clarification. We never deactivate. We take the main receiver and 1 mini-Genie out of the house when we travel. If we're gone on a trip with the 2 receivers, no one is home to watch TV.
__________________
SEARCH is your friend!
FR Wildcat 295RSX / GMC Sierra

Nights Camped: '13 = 49/'14 = 74/'15 = 74/'16 = 85/'17 = 110/'18 =111/'19 = 40; booked = 0
Mr. Dan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2019, 03:57 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Iwannacamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 6,462
Quote:
Originally Posted by lilitaliangal View Post
Just trying to share the hassle we just went through. This was from the tech himself that this is their new policy. We didn't turn it off we deactivated it so we didn't have to pay for it over the winter. Deactivate not turn off


10-4. I was not questioning you. I have had good techs and good phone service....and some not so good.

Dtv does make global changes...they ainít skeered.
__________________
2017 Puma 297RLSS
2005 Ram 2500 4X4 diesel SMOKER!!
I love puns, irony and tasteless jokes...
Iwannacamp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2019, 05:14 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Florida East Coast
Posts: 276
Sounds like a good reason to switch service providers. I have Dish and activate my Wally before we leave and deactivate it when we return. Never had any problems doing this. It stays on my account but simply shows inactive so I don't get billed for an extra receiver.
__________________

__________________
Hank, Dianna and two fur babies Cody and Bella
2016 F250 PSD CC/SB
2018 Crusader 338RSK
Windjammin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:02 PM.