Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-25-2010, 11:37 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
backin15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 390
What format for memory stick?

I just discovered the SD slot in our Concertone will not work. I tried a memory stick in the USB port and it does see the stick but will not play any songs. I do have other files on the stick, does it need to be an empty stick with no ohter files? Does the music need to be in a folder? Does it read MP3's or does it need a different format?
__________________

__________________
backin15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2010, 11:56 PM   #2
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by backin15 View Post
I just discovered the SD slot in our Concertone will not work. I tried a memory stick in the USB port and it does see the stick but will not play any songs. I do have other files on the stick, does it need to be an empty stick with no ohter files? Does the music need to be in a folder? Does it read MP3's or does it need a different format?
I think there is a max size it will read; both USB abd SD.
What size card/stick are you using?
__________________

__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2010, 11:57 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Iggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Desert SW - Arizona
Posts: 6,359
Quote:
Originally Posted by backin15 View Post
I just discovered the SD slot in our Concertone will not work. I tried a memory stick in the USB port and it does see the stick but will not play any songs. I do have other files on the stick, does it need to be an empty stick with no ohter files? Does the music need to be in a folder? Does it read MP3's or does it need a different format?
I was just looking at the Zx700 manual and it doesn't say much other than it has an SD port and will play music an pictures. If you have anything on your SD stick it is already formatted.
I would erase what you have and test by adding a few jpg photos in the root directory and possibly adding a mp3 format song and see what happens. I would think the TV would have to be on for the photos and look at changing the source possible.
__________________
2012 Georgetown XL - 378TS 60,000 miles
Life is a journey, not a destination !

Iggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2010, 07:17 AM   #4
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
When I first took delivery of my unit last year I thought the Concertone 700 was broken. The DVD player output, jpgs from the usb and SD port video were all snowy and scrambled.

The dealer was no help at all and only offered to order me a new one.

So, I started looking at all the menus to see if there was something I missed and discovered the Concertone was set on PAL from the factory.

Switching it back to NTSC solved all three problems.

BUT there is a MAX size that the USB and JPG reader will read REGARDLESS of FORMAT (OS10, DOS32, or NTFS). I think its 1 GIG but its been so long since I used either; I have forgotten. I remember I had no trouble with my 512meg camera sticks but when I bought a 2 GIG camera chip it did not work.

It is a function of the operating system inside the Concertone. There is a maximum number of memory any computer can access based on the "word size" of it's operating system (like 32bit or 64bit Windows). The bigger the "word" the more memory is can access.
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2010, 05:53 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Iggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Desert SW - Arizona
Posts: 6,359
Quote:
Originally Posted by backin15 View Post
I just discovered the SD slot in our Concertone will not work. I tried a memory stick in the USB port and it does see the stick but will not play any songs. I do have other files on the stick, does it need to be an empty stick with no ohter files? Does the music need to be in a folder? Does it read MP3's or does it need a different format?

This is what I just received from the company via email.

The unit supports SD cards with up to 2GB capacity.

The SD card has to be formatted with FAT file system.

The unit will play MP3 songs, MP4 audio/ video files and JPG photos.

When an SD card is plugged in, the unit will read the card and automatically go to SD card mode. Use the navigation buttons as well as play, stop, next and previous on the remote control to switch between songs/ photos.

Regards,
Concertone Support
__________________
2012 Georgetown XL - 378TS 60,000 miles
Life is a journey, not a destination !

Iggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2010, 06:03 PM   #6
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iggy View Post
This is what I just received from the company via email.

The unit supports SD cards with up to 2GB capacity.

The SD card has to be formatted with FAT file system.

The unit will play MP3 songs, MP4 audio/ video files and JPG photos.

When an SD card is plugged in, the unit will read the card and automatically go to SD card mode. Use the navigation buttons as well as play, stop, next and previous on the remote control to switch between songs/ photos.

Regards,
Concertone Support
Up to 2 Gig? hmm. Maybe my SD mode is bad...
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2010, 06:34 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 18
All SD readers should be able to read up to (a standard specification) 2 gig. Above that the new format is SDHC (high capacity) and you will need a reader that accepts the high capacity specification. If your reader is not reading your 2 gig I would make sure that A: it is not a 2 gig SDHC card or B: there is not something wrong with it formatting or C: something wrong with the reader.

Edit: Would be willing to bet it is A:
Your card is probably an SDHC card. Look for either SDHC, Hi speed or some other indication that it is the new specification.
__________________
Josh & Kami
2002 F250 PSD 4x4 C/C S/B
2002 Salem Lite T18

2010 Nights Camped =14
elamsinsd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2010, 08:27 PM   #8
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by elamsinsd View Post
All SD readers should be able to read up to (a standard specification) 2 gig. Above that the new format is SDHC (high capacity) and you will need a reader that accepts the high capacity specification. If your reader is not reading your 2 gig I would make sure that A: it is not a 2 gig SDHC card or B: there is not something wrong with it formatting or C: something wrong with the reader.

Edit: Would be willing to bet it is A:
Your card is probably an SDHC card. Look for either SDHC, Hi speed or some other indication that it is the new specification.
It is A:

I bought the high speed card for my camera. The camera will cycle faster to the next picture with the high speed card. Thanks.

I learn something new here every day.
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2010, 09:40 PM   #9
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 801
I found out a similiar problem w/ my GPS. It wouldn't "recognize" a 4 gig miniSD card, 2 is the limit.
__________________
2017 Chevrolet K2500HD, Husky W/D hitch
2009 Rockwood 2106 Mini-Lite
Nights camped 2010: 21
Nights camped 2011: 17
Nights camped 2012: 8
https://inlinethumb45.webshots.com/3...600x600Q85.jpg
revrnd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 12:39 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by herk7769 View Post
It is A:

I bought the high speed card for my camera. The camera will cycle faster to the next picture with the high speed card. Thanks.

I learn something new here every day.
Your welcome, happy to help.
__________________

__________________
Josh & Kami
2002 F250 PSD 4x4 C/C S/B
2002 Salem Lite T18

2010 Nights Camped =14
elamsinsd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:15 AM.