Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-23-2015, 06:26 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Weedsport NY
Posts: 118
Good luck and we hope it's nothing serious!
__________________

__________________
Semi retired now and enjoying it.


2013 F150 Super Cab 4x4, 3.5L ecoboost , 7700lb suspension package. 11,300 towing capacity and Max Tow package
2015 Flagstaff 8528IKWS Diamond
aquaholic3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2015, 07:05 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 31
OK so I tested the battery leads on the converter with just my battery connected. 12.1 volts. As shown I checked the voltage with the inverter runing and the same result of 12.1 volts. The manual says I should be getting 13.6 V at the converter is powered by shore power. I disconnected the leads from the inverter and got nothing with the inverter runing. At the same time I still have 110Volts at the receptacles. According to the manual this means the converter must be replaced. OUCH!
__________________

__________________
aullie70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2015, 07:07 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 31
I assume some small component has burned out on the board of the converter, anyone ever repair one of these before, I hate to throw it way if it is just a burn capacitor or diode.
__________________
aullie70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2015, 07:25 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 31
Nothing on the board looks to be burnt or swollen. From the tiny est diode to larger capacitors all looks good. I did notice there is a 15A fuse soldered into the board. I test this fuses leads and found no resistance indicating to me that it is blown. Anyone else out there ever experience this? Promise this is my last question. I will post my final solution whenever that happens.
__________________
aullie70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2015, 07:27 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 31
Attachment
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1440372446468.jpg
Views:	97
Size:	78.5 KB
ID:	86647  
__________________
aullie70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2015, 07:47 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
Filthy Beast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 627
Just to add a note, if the fuse has no resistance, the fuse is good. That said, you cannot really test a fuse while in the circuit using an ohm meter. You can test with power on, if you see power across the fuse it is open, if you see no power the fuse is good.
__________________
Goody Two Shoes and the Filthy Beast
2008 Chevy Silverado 2500HD
Duramax and Allison 6 speed
2012 Wildcat 282RKX

You can't make things idiot proof, you can only make them idiot resistant.
Filthy Beast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2015, 07:52 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Weedsport NY
Posts: 118
if the fuse blew there is a reason and it would probably blow again. You would be far better off to replace just the converter/charger part of that WFCO. Best Converter has several possibilities. You'd just remove the converter from the bottom of the panel and slide the new on right in. just a few wires to change and you'd have a much better charging system. example is the boondocker mainboard assy.

I'm using the Boondocker 55 amp replacement system now, but I'm building a whole new system around a 100 amp boondocker deck mount unit.
__________________
Semi retired now and enjoying it.


2013 F150 Super Cab 4x4, 3.5L ecoboost , 7700lb suspension package. 11,300 towing capacity and Max Tow package
2015 Flagstaff 8528IKWS Diamond
aquaholic3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2015, 07:53 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 31
OK, I alway thought of a fuse as a strand of wire which overheats and burns. In any case you know more than I do I'm sure. I will pull it out and send to my electrician friend to check. In any case if the inverter is burnt which it seems to be it will be disappointing, especially if I need to buy a new one.
__________________
aullie70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2015, 08:01 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Weedsport NY
Posts: 118
My WFCO stopped working in my Coachmen after only 2 summers, I replaced it with the Boondocker and was very pleased. I pulled the WFCO from my new Flagstaff almost immediately after I bought it. Put the Boondocker in that I had removed and kept from the Coachmen. I put the bad one back in the Coachmen and told the dealer about it being bad when I traded it. He said very common issue and he had no problem and had a replacement available.
__________________
Semi retired now and enjoying it.


2013 F150 Super Cab 4x4, 3.5L ecoboost , 7700lb suspension package. 11,300 towing capacity and Max Tow package
2015 Flagstaff 8528IKWS Diamond
aquaholic3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2015, 08:04 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 31
Interesting
__________________

__________________
aullie70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
battery, charging, inverter, trailer

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:59 PM.