Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-25-2019, 08:03 AM   #1

WiFi Ranger & IP WebCam for backup camera

I just bought a new 2019 Rockwood 2507S. It comes with a WiFi Ranger.
I am thinking about taking advantage of that to do a wireless IP Camera setup for a backup camera.

If you are not familiar (I am just learning), the WiFi Ranger is in effect a wireless router that has permanently installed antennas on the roof of the camper. The idea is that you connect all your wifi devices to it and then the WiFi Ranger can connect to wifi hotspots like campgrounds or Xfinity or somesuch. It also acts as a firewall. It is supposed to provide strong signal strength for your devices and the antennas can reach Wifi hotspots at a greater distance.

I am thinking this is the perfect setup for a wireless backup camera.
I have used some old spare Android phones as IP Webcams at my home so I am familiar with IP WebCam software in general. That won't work for this as I want a permanent and proper camera on the back of the camper.

The advantage of the WiFi Ranger is that it provides its own network for locally attached IP devices. I should be able to connect a wireless camera on the back of the camper and then have a smartphone or tablet in the truck show the live stream through free IP Webcam software.

I haven't taken delivery of my camper yet (later this week) so I can't confirm some things...

Some Questions...

1) does the wifi signal strength of the WiFi Ranger extend well enough such that it will have good signal to my F150 truck? It is supposed to be for campsite (outside) so it should. I will confirm and report back

2) does the WiFi Ranger work on 12 volt power when towing? I think so. I will confirm and report back