Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-09-2016, 06:52 PM   #1
Who Dares, Wins
 
doc73's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Chester County, PA
Posts: 6,625
Wire location for Furnace's thermostat

I know this will be vague.. I am not at the trailer, it is home and I am working hard here at work 40 miles away..

I have been toying with relocating my furnace's thermostat to the inside wall of the trailer, not near the slide. It is a saburban heater (I presume) and am looking to know where the wires exit the thing. I looked from the removed grate under my oven and did not see then, I did get a few slices from the ducting though... Just curious from those in the know. If more info is needed I look into it when I am off on Friday.


The reasoning.. I have also been thinking of installing the shut off relay posted some time ago to put the AC on the thermostat as well. Just planning my future mods....

Thanks!

EDIT: For those on the app and see no sig... 2014 Grey Wolf 26DBH
__________________

__________________

Pat, Jen, Heather & Sapphire, the head mouser.
2015 ChevyHD D-Max
2018 Artic Wolf 315tbh8
doc73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2016, 10:37 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: East Berlin
Posts: 682
I have to ask, your AC is not controlled by the thermostat?
__________________

Rich5117 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2016, 05:08 AM   #3
Who Dares, Wins
 
doc73's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Chester County, PA
Posts: 6,625
No it is not, it is a none Ducted model.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G870A using Tapatalk
__________________

Pat, Jen, Heather & Sapphire, the head mouser.
2015 ChevyHD D-Max
2018 Artic Wolf 315tbh8
doc73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2016, 07:20 AM   #4
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,484
Quote:
Originally Posted by doc73 View Post
No it is not, it is a none Ducted model.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G870A using Tapatalk

Will you change the ceiling cover plate or just leave it?


2015 Columbus 320RS
2008 2500HD Duramax
2015 nights camped "34"
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2016, 02:48 PM   #5
Who Dares, Wins
 
doc73's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Chester County, PA
Posts: 6,625
I have not decide yet. I might just use the relay you had posted on some time ago. I also might order the conversion but if I do the relay I see no point per se.
__________________

Pat, Jen, Heather & Sapphire, the head mouser.
2015 ChevyHD D-Max
2018 Artic Wolf 315tbh8
doc73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2016, 10:28 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: East Berlin
Posts: 682
Doc73 did not mean to be sarcastic, I was amazed that in a 2014 unit both were not controlled by one thermostat. The only other thing you made need or want to do is install a hard start capacitor.
Rich5117 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2016, 06:52 AM   #7
Who Dares, Wins
 
doc73's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Chester County, PA
Posts: 6,625
I guess it is standard now. our model, an early 2014, Ducted was only an option.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G870A using Tapatalk
__________________

Pat, Jen, Heather & Sapphire, the head mouser.
2015 ChevyHD D-Max
2018 Artic Wolf 315tbh8
doc73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2016, 10:32 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 925
Quote:
Originally Posted by doc73 View Post
I know this will be vague.. I am not at the trailer, it is home and I am working hard here at work 40 miles away..

I have been toying with relocating my furnace's thermostat to the inside wall of the trailer, not near the slide. It is a saburban heater (I presume) and am looking to know where the wires exit the thing. I looked from the removed grate under my oven and did not see then, I did get a few slices from the ducting though... Just curious from those in the know. If more info is needed I look into it when I am off on Friday.


The reasoning.. I have also been thinking of installing the shut off relay posted some time ago to put the AC on the thermostat as well. Just planning my future mods....

Thanks!

EDIT: For those on the app and see no sig... 2014 Grey Wolf 26DBH
If I were you I would contact FR and ask them. Every model is going to be different. On my 5er the stat is located by the steps going to the bedroom. The heaters wiring goes under the floor then up the wall. The air goes thru the ceiling then drops down. I can get to them if I remove the stereo. They are mixed in with the stereo's 50 wires and is a hell of a mess!

I know this cause the wire nuts come loose at times. Had to open things up the other day cause I lost power to the stereo the other day and had to find the power wire to tighten it.

Jim
__________________
07 Dodge 1500 crew cab with 20" wheels, 08 Forest River Rockwood Signature Ultra-lite 8280SS
"The reasonable man adapts himself to the world; the unreasonable one persists in trying to adapt the world to himself. Therefore, all progress depends on the unreasonable man."
George Bernard Shaw
oldtool2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2016, 07:12 PM   #9
Who Dares, Wins
 
doc73's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Chester County, PA
Posts: 6,625
I'm just looking for the color coming out of the furnace as it starts it's run towards the thermostat. I'll open up the compartment a bit and see if the furnace is labeled.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G870A using Tapatalk
__________________

Pat, Jen, Heather & Sapphire, the head mouser.
2015 ChevyHD D-Max
2018 Artic Wolf 315tbh8
doc73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2016, 08:49 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 925
Quote:
Originally Posted by doc73 View Post
I'm just looking for the color coming out of the furnace as it starts it's run towards the thermostat. I'll open up the compartment a bit and see if the furnace is labeled.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G870A using Tapatalk
Look on the stat and get the colors from the terminal strip. Can't you just splice the wire at the old stat location and run a new cable to your new location? Maybe I am getting confused but it doesn't seem like it should be a problem.

I would think the biggest problem would be getting the wire to the new location with out tearing the whole trailer apart.

Jim
__________________
07 Dodge 1500 crew cab with 20" wheels, 08 Forest River Rockwood Signature Ultra-lite 8280SS
"The reasonable man adapts himself to the world; the unreasonable one persists in trying to adapt the world to himself. Therefore, all progress depends on the unreasonable man."
George Bernard Shaw
oldtool2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2016, 10:40 AM   #11
Who Dares, Wins
 
doc73's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Chester County, PA
Posts: 6,625
Wiring for the old T-stat is behind the slide on a bunk end, not convenient for running a new wire from. I currently moved the t-stat to the slide using a 1/4" mono plug and lamp cord for the heating side (only two wires). I CAN do the same for the A/C side I guess but that might look messy with two set of wire going to the stat on the slide. I have a nice wall 4 feet from the heater / power panel where I have rear access through a pantry to just abandon the old wire that runs to the other side of the camper and put a whole new four wire cable. This will put the stat only a few feet from the heater / power panel and not behind the slide where they put it stock prior to my relocation.
__________________

__________________

Pat, Jen, Heather & Sapphire, the head mouser.
2015 ChevyHD D-Max
2018 Artic Wolf 315tbh8
doc73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cat, furnace, location, thermostat

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:27 PM.


×