Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-18-2008, 02:25 PM   #1
Cyber Phrenologist
 
Radio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Fayetteville, GA
Posts: 1,699
ZX600 Extraction

Fisrt, the ZX600 will not play DVD movie all the way through to completion. My theory is that the unit overheats and then "freezes up" and will no longer play. I have had DVD players in the stick house and at work do this.

I would bet there is NO ventilation in the cabinet where the ZX600 is located. If I knew how to get the unit out of the cabinet, I could install some ventilation in there to see if that would help.

There are two small holes in the trim near the top of the unit. Do I use these to remove the unit? Ideas?
__________________

__________________
KU4OJ
Admin at www.openroadsradio.net, part of the Social Knowledge network.
"RVing and Amateur Radio served up on the same plate"
2008 (or is it 2009?) Rockwood 8280SS - 2007 F-150
Lot's of mostly Kenwood radios

Radio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2008, 02:34 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Justin, Tx
Posts: 2,671
use a hammer....................










a REALLY big one






and a crowbar
__________________

__________________
aintgotnun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2008, 02:49 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 165
pry with a screw driver in the two holes you found. it will release the trim bezel around the radio. then there are 4 screws holding it in under the bezel.
__________________
skidoonut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2008, 03:59 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
powerboatr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: homebase Quitman Texas at Lake Fork
Posts: 1,388
mine has 6 screws holding it to the cabinet
i pulled it out and added a 12 v computer fan to force air into the back of the unit
i still loose digits after about an hour but a quick run of the vlume and the didgits usually come back,
but man is thing HOT
__________________
Living in the Piney Woods of Texas.
powerboatr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2008, 10:24 PM   #5
Cyber Phrenologist
 
Radio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Fayetteville, GA
Posts: 1,699
Quote:
Originally Posted by powerboatr View Post
mine has 6 screws holding it to the cabinet
i pulled it out and added a 12 v computer fan to force air into the back of the unit
i still loose digits after about an hour but a quick run of the vlume and the didgits usually come back,
but man is thing HOT
Where did you get power for the fans? Do they come on with the ZX600 or do you need a seperate switch?
__________________
KU4OJ
Admin at www.openroadsradio.net, part of the Social Knowledge network.
"RVing and Amateur Radio served up on the same plate"
2008 (or is it 2009?) Rockwood 8280SS - 2007 F-150
Lot's of mostly Kenwood radios

Radio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2008, 10:46 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
powerboatr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: homebase Quitman Texas at Lake Fork
Posts: 1,388
Quote:
Originally Posted by Radio View Post
Where did you get power for the fans? Do they come on with the ZX600 or do you need a seperate switch?
i tapped teh 12v hot line that feeds the unit and added a small switch on the side panel above my sat revciever
fans i purchased at radio shack
__________________
Living in the Piney Woods of Texas.
powerboatr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2008, 11:47 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 165
i would have to pull my unit to confirm but i seem to remember a trigger wire for an amp on the back of the unit. if there is a trigger wire you could use it to power a relay and have that control the fan automatically. just a thought.
__________________
skidoonut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2008, 11:46 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 6
Did you happen to notice while you had the unit out if they have a capacitor wrapped in shrink tube on the power feed? Mine did and it gets so hot that i cant even hold on to the thing. Hope they did a better job wiring yours. Good Luck.
__________________
familyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2008, 07:29 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 165
no cap on my unit and i have no noise now. the noisey units i have had have all been bad units. no they did not wire mine nicely. i had to rewire everything. they do not even care about polarity or speaker position when they wire. i had front speakers connected to the back outputs and visa versa.
__________________
skidoonut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2008, 08:57 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: CT
Posts: 10
my first burnt up with in 6 weeks , the dealer gave me a replacement and i installed it . I also installed a 12 v computer fan with a seperate switich . I put a hole for the fan and switich under the shelf the TV sits on cant hardly see it.
__________________

__________________
<img src=http://www.forestriverforums.com/forums/images/smilies/stars.gif border=0 alt= title=Stars class=inlineimg />
jameseh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:55 AM.