Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-24-2015, 04:38 PM   #1
MCTroy

First BIG trip

So this is my first attempt at a new thread on the forum. I have enjoyed reading all the advice and thought the members here would be a good place to start my quest for some travel advice. DH and I keep our Windjammer at a marina all summer as we have done previously with our other campers. The marina is in southern Ohio so there are some moderate hills there. Last year we purchased a real tow vehicle to handle the weight of the W. We have a 2011 3/4 Ton Ram with the 5.7 hemi. It doesn't care the W is even back there. So now we are ready to tackle a long trip.

We are going from the Cincinnati area in Ohio to Ashville NC. We are staying at the Bear Creek RV park in mid October. We would like to find a back road route to Ashville that won't go through Nashville. Also, we plan to only drive about 3 hours the first night and will need to find a place to stay for a short rest.

Any suggestions? I have heard there is a route that goes more towards the East that is an easier tow. Thanks everyone for any advice or suggestions. We already took one forum suggestion -- we got new D load tires on the W! MCTroy
MCTroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2015, 07:13 PM   #2

Are you sure it is Nashville that you will be going through? I did this trip about three years ago and we went through Knoxville TN on I75 to I40 and than over to Ashville NC. Any other route would add a lot of miles and takes you North east to get to another interstate to go down and you will end up in West Virginia and Virginia to get to North Carolina.

I would suggest that you use Goggle maps and RV Park reviews for camp sites. This is how we always plan our trips. I try to find a town that is so many hours away and then look for a campground that is highly rated in RV Park Reviews by actual RV Campers.