Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-20-2014, 07:24 PM   #1

Maiden voyage 3065w Windjammer

New to camping. Well back in December purchased our Windjammer. Last time we camped was 35 yrs ago in a tent at Smith mountain lake what a disaster. Our first trip in the new TT was back to the scene of the last trip. I have been studying the forums here for the last several months, and gained a wealth of info. Everyone says that the first camping trip should be close to home. Nope, we hooked up and drove 5 hours to Smith Mountain Lake towing our TT with a gasser f250 with 150,000 miles.Trailer towed really well with the wd hitch. No sway when tractor trailers passed and on flat land you could hardly feel it. The TV did grunt on the hills. I found that my best speed was 55 mph, when I got to 60 it felt like the trailer would drift, I don't know what caused that. So I just kept in around 55 and let the traffic stack up behind me. Arrived at the campground, (Blue ridge campground ) the campground is inhabited my mostly seasonal campers. Sites were at a minimum, got a pull through that was not even close to level, I was able to use my blocks to make it acceptable. Used everything on the TT except the A/C. The only issue was the black tank sensors always showed empty. All in all was a good trip, thanks to all the advice from this forum, I didn't look like a newby at the campground. The TT will go back to the dealer to repair or replace the sensors on the black tank. 500 miles round trip, not bad for the first time. Chuck in Va
Charles Firth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2014, 07:42 PM   #2
Professional Texan

Quote:
Originally Posted by Charles Firth View Post