Old 05-28-2012, 07:27 PM   #1

2002 Yukon + Surveyor SP-275

Hello all,

I am a brand new owner of a FR Surveyor SP-275. And I have some questions / concerns regarding towing it. I am brand new to hauling trailers so excuse my ignorance. I had to purchase the trailer for work so I wouldn't be stuck in a motel for 6 months. I have a 2002 GMC Yukon. I wouldn't worry so much about pulling a trailer that weighted less than 5000lbs except for the fact the the Yukon has 240k miles on it!! Don't get me wrong, the vehicle is in GREAT SHAPE and I have no intention of getting a new car until this one gets pealed off the road. But at the same time I dont want to drop a tranny trying to pull this trailer.

Any precautions or maintenance you recommend before I make a 500 mile trip. I plan on stopping at least half way for some lunch and a cool down. Check the engine oil just for ol sakes.

Do you recommend I get a transmission change and put synthetic transmission fluid in it? Get a synthetic oil change?

Old 05-28-2012, 10:28 PM   #2
Moderator Emeritus

1st off, that is a long trailer for a relative short wheel based SUV. A quality WDH with integrated sway control will be a necessity.

We need a bunch more information here. The Yukon engine, final drive ratio, and whether it has a factory tow package or not. Also your hitch specs....there should be a sticker on the hitch with that information.

BTW.....welcome to the forum !!

Chap , DW Joy, and Fur Baby Sango
2017 F350 Lariat CCSB, SRW, 4x4, 6.7 PS
2017 Grand Design Reflection 337RLS
MtnGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 10:47 PM   #3

Ok so here is some information I gathered.

Info from sticker near hitch at electrical plugin
Hitch Ratings: V-5 Talon
Hitch Type: Maximum Trailer Weight
Weight Carrying: 5000 lb
Weight Distributing: 12000 lb
*Tow vehicle maximum trailer rating may be less.
Maximum Tongue Weight: Weight Carrying: 600 lb
Maximum Tongue Weight: Weight Distributing: 1500 lb