Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-11-2015, 08:05 AM   #1

2005 f-250 power stroke

Does anyone own one of these and what is your experience with this engine???
I have no experience with diesel, so i need to know the ups and down of this engine.
Truck i'm looking at is: 2005 ford F-250 XLT 4x4 diesel with 83000 miles or 133000 kilos.
Is this a good engine or is it troublesome????
Would you recommend this engine???
Thanks
Mike
micalo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2015, 08:16 AM   #2

Ohhh boy..!! That's a can o' worms. I would go over here to the powerstroke.org forum and do some reading.
rana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2015, 08:43 AM   #3

can-o-worms???? the engine or the question, i know, i know
Looking at the forum and not knowing to much about diesel and all abreviation they use, i'll probably be reading for the rest of the year as there are so much on there.
I tought i might be able to get a resume from people that have or had one of them.
Thanks for your reply,i'll start reading......
Mike
Old 06-11-2015, 08:58 AM   #4

The question... I have had one. I had an 04' and loved it. I never had an issue with mine, but asking the question could lead to a lot of controversy and deep seated feelings. Probably best to keep that confined to the PSD forum rather than FRF.. and most any question you could have has been beaten to death of there.

Old 06-11-2015, 09:09 AM   #5

6.7 or 7.3? The 6.7 had some issue, the 7.3 is the one most sought after. I own a cummins so I don't know a lot about the Fords, but I have a really good mechanic that says the 7.3 is better motor but with some tweaking the 6.7 can be good as well.

You might try going to the Ford forums as someone else suggested.
GmanHawaii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2015, 09:14 AM   #6