Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-21-2014, 07:12 PM   #1

2007 Tacoma & 2015 Salem Cruiselite 261bhxl

Hello all...I'm new(ish) to the forum and have been soaking up everything on here. There is a lot of good information and I'm looking to get some more...specifically concerning my truck and anticipated TT.

The wife and I have been shopping for the last 18 months or so for an RV. We knew the exact floorplan we wanted and shopped 5 or 6 manufacturers that offered our preferred floorplan. After attending the Hershey RV Show, we decided on a Salem CruiseLite 261BHXL. It is a 29' bunkhouse model with a ready-to-camp weight of 4730lbs. Currently, I drive a 2007 Toyota Tacoma Double Cab 4x4 TRD with the factory tow package (auxillary oil & tranny coolers) and Air Lift Ride Control Air Springs. It has a 4.0L V6 with a 6-speed automatic transmission. Per the owner's manual, the truck is rated to pull 6500lbs with a tongue weight of 650lbs.

While shopping for an RV, I was always up front with what truck I drove and whether what we wanted could be towed by it. Each and every time, the different dealers went to their books and came back with the affirmative. I know they are there to sell trailers and would tell you almost anything to be successful, but I ALSO conversed with Toyota and they also assured me I would be good to go. So here is the question...

1. Is there anyone out there pulling a similar sized TT with a 2nd generation Tacoma (or similar truck). There are pictures all over the web showing people doing so, but I would like to hear from those who have actually done it.