Old 08-19-2013, 08:53 PM   #1

2013 AWD Yukon Denali - NEWBIE towing questions

Hello everyone. COMPLETE newbie here to the world of towing a travel trailer. So please bare with me and any help or insight you can provide would be greatly appreciated. Peace of mind in what Iím towing is very important to me and my gut says itís not as simple as what some of the dealers make it out to be. The thought of pulling out of a dealer with a brand new trailer and realizing Iíve bitten off more than my Yukon can tow makes me sick! When reading this keep in mind I am definitely going with a weight distribution hitch to just be safe, as anything I select will at least be over 4500lbs.

So to the details: Our TV is a 2013 GMC Yukon Denali. Itís a 6.2L V8. It has a 3.42 axle ratio (NO idea what this means but seems to come up a lot). GMC claims a max trailering capacity of 8100lbs. It has a maximum tongue capacity of 600lbs, but moves up to 1000lbs max with a weight-distributing hitch. GVWR is 7300lbs. GAWR Front is 3550lbs. GAWR Rear is 4200lbs. GCWR is 14,000lbs.

I can not, no matter how much Iíve read, put all these numbers into anything that makes sense to ME. I want to be sure the trailer we purchase is not exceeding the recommended limits for this TV. The trailers Iím looking at are well under the max, and most fall right around 5000lbs (yellow sticker). More importantly to me, the wheelbase on the Yukon is 116 inches, so Iím also concerned about how long of a trailer I can pull before it becomes too much. Again keeping in mind that I will be using a weight distribution hitch.

Answers or simply advise to any of these questions will help us determine what size of trailer we can safely look at. We are torn between a bunk house (double bed, double bunk style - Rockwood UltraLite 2702SS style) type travel trailer which obviously get bigger, longer, and heavier vs. a hybrid style expandable trailer (Rockwood Roo 23IKSS style) which is obviously shorter and lighter.