Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-05-2015, 10:01 PM   #1

2016 Salem 31 KQBTS / RAM 1500

Hi everyone, I'm a newbie here looking for some information. My wife and I ordered a new Salem 31 KQBTS for the family (5 total with 2 small children). I thought I bought the right truck and looked at all the literature for my tow rig (10,150 tow capacity, 1590 lb payload) and now I come to find out my payload is just shy of 1300 lbs. The factory shows a dry weight of 7902 with a hitch weight of just under 800 lbs. We will generally only be in lower Michigan, maybe 3 hour drive from home and am looking at getting the Blue OX 1500 LB sway pro hitch. Am I nutz trying to pull this thing with my truck. I thought I did my due dilligence to make sure I bought the right truck for the job and now I'm concerned that maybe I didn't. I will only pull a few times per year but I obviously want everyone to be safe when we travel.

Any thoughts?

Bob
Old 11-05-2015, 10:27 PM   #2
Phat Phrog Stunt Team

Payload in the brochures or online shows the base model.
Door stickers only tell you the accurate number.
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2015, 12:25 AM   #3

You will probably be fine, though most would say (and i agree) that you should have purchased a 3/4 or SRW 1 ton.

You will probably be slightly over weight and thats a really long TT.

Just keep your speed down. Remember that a 3/4 ton truck doesnt just have extra towing and payload capacities, but also larger brakes. Most of the fear and white knuckles will be front sudden stopping and the trailer bein pushed around.

TT: 2016 40' Chaparral 360IBL at 14000lbs
TV: 2016 F450 Platinum 6.7 CC LWB FX4, B&W Companion Hitch
IronCobra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2015, 07:09 AM   #4