Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-04-2015, 08:34 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 712
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bilcin View Post
Yes, WDH is rated to 12,000lb just had to upgrade my spring bars from 800lb to 1,200lb bars and
I am not sure what hitch you currently own, but if it were me towing that size trailer . . . I would want to tow it with the best hitch/sway control I could afford. I would personally buy a The Equal-I-er hitch and sell the old one to recoup some of that investment.
__________________

__________________
madmaxmutt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2015, 08:49 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2,429
+1 on the hitch upgrade. Equalizer 4 point- RVWholesalers has them and is very competitive on pricing. ProPride or Hensley would be best, but they don't give them away.
__________________

__________________
dustman_stx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2015, 09:17 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
DFW Rusty's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: TX
Posts: 181
I'm with OldCoot. Get a reputable welder to weld it on for you. When I bought my second sway bar it came with the tab, luckily my hitch already had the hole for the ball, so it wasn't needed.


I am sure that one of the expensive hitch setups will work better, but I have the WDH chains and 2 sway bars and my 6700 lb, 33' camper pulls straight as an arrow.
__________________
2015 WildWood 27RKSS
2012 Ford F350 King Ranch FX4
DFW Rusty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2015, 09:27 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2,429
Quote:
Originally Posted by DFW Rusty View Post
I'm with OldCoot. Get a reputable welder to weld it on for you. When I bought my second sway bar it came with the tab, luckily my hitch already had the hole for the ball, so it wasn't needed.


I am sure that one of the expensive hitch setups will work better, but I have the WDH chains and 2 sway bars and my 6700 lb, 33' camper pulls straight as an arrow.

The OP is probably close to 3K heavier and 3' longer.
__________________
dustman_stx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2015, 09:31 AM   #15
Mod free 5er
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 24,215
Quote:
Originally Posted by dustman_stx View Post
The OP is probably close to 3K heavier and 3' longer.

Not everyone can spend upwards of $2000+ for hitches when a $100 fix will work.
__________________
OldCoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2015, 09:39 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2,429
Quote:
Originally Posted by OldCoot View Post
Not everyone can spend upwards of $2000+ for hitches when a $100 fix will work.

You can find HA's and PP's used for $900-$1500 if you look. The OP will probably have $500 in their entire setup before it's over. That's at LEAST 1/3 the cost for 1/50 the hitch, IMHO. Considering a new 5er would run probably 30K+, I think that's a little stretch of a comparison. Also, one thing that no one ever seems to consider is this- the more friction you use to control sway, the more you have to overcome in order to turn. People need to consider that the force used to control the sway will still be there acting against them if they need to make emergency maneuvers or if they encounter slick roads. I believe the friction bars actually state NOT to use them in wet/icy conditions.
__________________
dustman_stx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2015, 10:10 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2,429
Try again...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Sway control.jpg
Views:	111
Size:	38.8 KB
ID:	76104  
__________________
dustman_stx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2015, 02:55 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Stormrider151's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: South East
Posts: 915
The picture you posted looks like a Reese hitch. Can you just add the cams to your current hitch?
__________________
Retired Fire Dept Battalion Chief
2016 Ever-Lite 232RBS
2012 F150 FX4 W/Max tow & Ecoboost

Getting old ain't for wimps!!!
Stormrider151 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2015, 03:38 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2,429
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stormrider151 View Post
The picture you posted looks like a Reese hitch. Can you just add the cams to your current hitch?
Edit: Didn't follow or read carefully resulting in stupid post. Deleted. Carry on.
__________________
dustman_stx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2015, 03:48 PM   #20
Mod free 5er
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 24,215
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stormrider151 View Post
The picture you posted looks like a Reese hitch. Can you just add the cams to your current hitch?
In answer to your question, I don't believe you can just add cams without adding the other hardware needed for the cams.
__________________

__________________
OldCoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sway

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:06 AM.