Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-18-2012, 07:41 AM   #1

Air Bags & WD Hitch

I have been reading threads about air bag suspension for TV's and am a little bit confused (Keep in mind, I'm a bean counter by trade so not real good understanding the physics)...

Question is, when you level the ride height at the rear using airbags, does that have the effect of reducing the load on the WD springs?, or does it just level ride height without having any effect on weight distribution?

Thanks in advance.
2015 RAM 2500 4X4, 6.4l hemi, 6sp auto, 3:73 diffs
Equalizer 10,000lb hitch with 1K bars
Swaggler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2012, 08:39 AM   #2

It is dependent on which one and when you set it up. Frame will be moving up on both ,bags & W/D. Youroo!!
youroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2012, 08:54 AM   #3

I have an Expedition with the about leveling air suspension. I use the Reece Dual Cam HP hitch. I set it up before the airbags level the truck. Then let the compressor come on and let it add air. I made the mistake of doing it the other way around when I first got the Expedition. The air bags leveled the truck after lifting the tongue jack. Then I hooked up the bars. There wasn't enough weight on the bars and I got too much sway from the camper.

2011 Prime Time Tracer 3000BHS
2007 Ford Expedition
Reese Dual Cam HP Hitch
Nights Camped 2015-5 in TT
DF5.4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2012, 08:25 PM   #4

Thanks everyone.
Sounds like the air bags work simultaneously with the WD hitch. I'm thinking they would be a good investment. I was looking at Timbrens rubber springs for my truck, but am thinking that air bag levelers are a better way to go for towing.
2015 RAM 2500 4X4, 6.4l hemi, 6sp auto, 3:73 diffs
Equalizer 10,000lb hitch with 1K bars
Swaggler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2012, 09:41 PM   #5