Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-13-2014, 10:13 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 96
Allisons use the cold setting for rough levels and are best checked when the transmission is at normal operating temp.
__________________

__________________
'07 Toyota Tundra 5.7L DC 4x2
'16 Surveyor 226RBDS
Nights camped 2016 - 3
Nights camped in 2015 - 20
Ditchooker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 10:30 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
avolnek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 630
Should be checked at normal operating temp as well as in neutral.

Do you know if your shop flushed the trans fluid or drained and replaced? I'm not a fan of flushing because if you flush the fluid then you purge the trans of small fibers from the clutches within that grip. Flushing these fibers cause the clutches to slip more for a while till those fibers are built back up.
__________________

__________________

TV- 2015 Ram 2500 CCLB 6.7 Cummins 3.42 gears
Camper - 2015 Saber 322BHTS
avolnek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 10:32 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
PrairieBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Rouleau, Saskatchewan
Posts: 176
My Dad's first Duramax with the Allison transmission did something like that. You would start the truck and put it in gear and the gear display would be blank. The transmission would not work at all. Shut the truck off and start it again and it might work this time and it might not. He had the dealership come and tow it back to them on 3 occasions, the last time they had it for 10 days. The reason they gave the last time was that a clump of mud must have knocked the connector loose. He traded it in on a newer Duramax and the trouble has never returned. Can't remember what year the truck was but it was in the first year that the truck was offered with the Allison transmission.
__________________
Todd & Sheila and kids
Rouleau, Saskatchewan
2012 Surveyor SV-305
2012 Dodge Ram 1500 4X4 CC Outdoorsman
PrairieBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2014, 10:12 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 92
It was drained, filter replaced, and refilled
__________________
Cardinal camper is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2014, 11:09 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
jevanb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,441
Never heard of Shell Spirax MD3 if it is not TES295 approved fluid get it out as fast as you can, also no flushing allowed on this trans no matter what anybodys shop says, just the double drain method is good..
When determining whether or not a fluid is TES 295 approved, look and/or ask for one of two things: The Allison TES 295 approval number and have the Allison Logo. Or you can use what you want but dont expect the trans to live long life

Sounds like the NSBU switch (Neutral Start Back Up) switch. symptoms could be PRNDL display may not show up or only a partial display, no engagement even though your shifter is in D or R (like you were in neutral), codes, or shift range inhibited on the DIC display, easy fix and part cost about 75.00 at a local allison dealer , do not get one at the GM dealer because they charge like 250.00. BTW 06-up 6 speed transmissions no longer use an external NSBU switch

Quote:
Originally Posted by avolnek View Post
While the pan is off they should be replacing the filter as well as adjusting the bands.
their are no bands to adjust on the allison transmission, the clutch packs are set at install..Internally, the transmissions have three planetary gear sets controlled by 5 sets of clutches, labeled C1-C5. 2 clutch packs (C1-C2) are rotating, and transfer input torque to certain elements in the planetary sets, while the remaining 3 sets (c3-C5) are stationary and lock each of the ring gears and their coupled components to the case when engaged. These transmissions contain no bands, sprags, or roller clutches - all gear changes are accomplished by direct clutch-to-clutch changes.
__________________
2012 Wildcat 344QB

06 LBZ ,CC 4x
lots of mods
Superglide
jevanb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2014, 04:47 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
golfmedik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Auburn, GA
Posts: 966
Another vote for the NSBU switch. My '01 truck is having similar issues with the display too. All I've talked to say this is the problem, just have not had time to get to it yet. Plus the transmissions DO NOT LIKE a lot of fluid. If it is over halfway on the stick while warm, mine will puke some at interstate speeds after 100 miles or so. It won't do it again after it gets down to the warm fluid level being at the half mark.
__________________
2012 Sandpiper 365SAQ weighing @ 15k, Onan, 2nd air, slide toppers, TST
2013 F350 6.7L Lariat 4x4 CC DRW,Viair 1007, Ride-Rites, Edge CTS, B&W
2001 Chevy 3500CC DRW 4x4, 8.1L, 4.10 gears w/ Detroit TrueTrac
2001 Ford Excursion Limited 4x4 7.3L,V/B Spring Mod, ProComps, Hellwig Swaybar, & other 'Necessities'
golfmedik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2014, 09:00 AM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 92
Thanks for the reply. What is double drain??
__________________
Cardinal camper is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2014, 09:26 AM   #18
Senior Member
 
jevanb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,441
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cardinal camper View Post
Thanks for the reply. What is double drain??
drain, replace spin on filter, and do it over again, IMO transynd is the only fluid that should be installed, but amsoil Torque-Drive is also a very good, If you have a w.w.w williams close by you can get the fluid for 170.00 for 5 gals and the NSBU switch
__________________
2012 Wildcat 344QB

06 LBZ ,CC 4x
lots of mods
Superglide
jevanb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2014, 09:48 AM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 92
Do you know how many Qts I need. I think I'll replace the fluid. Should I replace the spin on the second time or reuse. Also do you drive between drainings? Tks
__________________
Cardinal camper is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2014, 10:24 AM   #20
Senior Member
 
jevanb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,441
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cardinal camper View Post
Do you know how many Qts I need. I think I'll replace the fluid. Should I replace the spin on the second time or reuse. Also do you drive between drainings? Tks
if I remember right ( I run a deep pan) it is 8qts for a stock pan, just remove the spin on and drain it and reinstall, here is some good reading http://www.duramaxforum.com/forum/tr...-transynd.html

To change the switch look here
__________________

__________________
2012 Wildcat 344QB

06 LBZ ,CC 4x
lots of mods
Superglide
jevanb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:25 AM.