Old 02-18-2016, 11:10 AM   #1

Andersen Ultimate vs other 5th Wheel Hitches

I'm brand new to the Forest River Forum and have been RV'ing for only 3-4 years. I just bought a Rockwood 8299BS...in fact I haven't even picked it up yet. They are installing a couple things...backup camera, class III receiver hitch in the back and moving my Anderson block from my old 5th wheel to the Rockwood. I'm re-thinking the Anderson Ultimate hitch due to what I consider to be excessive tipping on uneven ground. It seems like the standard 5th wheel hitch is more stable in side-to-side movement. If I move to a standard hitch, I'll have to either buy a B&W Companion hitch because of the B&W gooseneck currently installed in the bed to accommodate the Anderson system or start over. I enjoy the utility value of my current system by removing the Anderson hitch, turning the gooseneck ball over and getting my flat bed back for hauling stuff. I would like to take advantage of the Reese Revolution on my new Rockwood but I'm told it's incompatible with the B&W Companion. Any thoughts on this would be much appreciated. Thanks in advance!

Old 02-18-2016, 08:39 PM   #2

I can't help your questions, as I am new to fifth wheels (picking mine up Saturday). However, I wanted to ask about the class III hitch install you are having done.

Is the Rockwood new? Is the dealer installing the hitch, and if so did they give you any grief over it? The reason I am asking is because I would like to do the same, but for some reason didn't even think to get the dealer to do it. I figured I would just have a friend of mine (welder / trailer builder) weld it on after the frame warranty ran out.

I hope this doesn't derail your thread too much, and if so we can take it to Private Message.

BTW... I'm planning to use an Andersen.

2016 Sandpiper 376BHOK
2500HD Chevrolet

Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums

Old 02-18-2016, 10:36 PM   #3