Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-31-2014, 07:35 AM   #1

Backing 5th wheel on incline

I'm in the early stages of research in purchasing a new 5th wheel. I've owned several TT but I'm new to the 5th wheel market. I have many questions but will start with this one because if I can't park the unit in my driveway none of the other concerns will mater.

When backing the unit into my driveway I am forced to make about a 45 degree turn while going from a flat street to a fairly steep inclined driveway that levels off at the top.

My concerned is that the 5th wheel will hit the bed rails when the unit is turned and inclined. Any feed back would be greatly appreciated.

The TV is a 2012 f250 crew cab short bed.
Auto4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2014, 07:48 AM   #2
Phat Phrog Stunt Team

Quote:
Originally Posted by Auto4 View Post
I'm in the early stages of research in purchasing a new 5th wheel. I've owned several TT but I'm new to the 5th wheel market. I have many questions but will start with this one because if I can't park the unit in my driveway none of the other concerns will mater.

When backing the unit into my driveway I am forced to make about a 45 degree turn while going from a flat street to a fairly steep inclined driveway that levels off at the top.

My concerned is that the 5th wheel will hit the bed rails when the unit is turned and inclined. Any feed back would be greatly appreciated.

The TV is a 2012 f250 crew cab short bed.
Going up usually isn't as much of a concern as it would be if your drive went down suddenly from a flat surface.
AquaMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2014, 07:51 AM   #3