Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-27-2013, 09:46 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 61
Brake controller

I am trying to hook up an electric brake controller to a 2000 silverado. The vehicle has a tow package so I purchased a wiring harness that plugs in directly to the panel under the dash. When I hooked it up, the break controller did not power on. When it used a circuit tester on the harness, there is not power. Is there a fuse I need to install or a wire I need to connect?
__________________

__________________
Dvigna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 10:38 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Mark and Linda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Smyrna, Tennessee
Posts: 445
Check your fuse locations on your truck, might be under the hood. Etrailer.com has some videos that might help. I have a Prodigy P2 on my 2007 Chevrolet, it powered right up after I plugged it in. When you find the problem, please post.
__________________

__________________
2009 Palomino Puma 25RS
2007 Chevrolet Silverado
Prodigy P2 Brake Controller
Mark and Linda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 11:20 PM   #3
Oklahoma Proud
 
MillerTime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: central OK
Posts: 2,774
Yep, what ^ they said. You will have to install a maxi fuse for your year model- should be a green one and it installs in the underhood fuse box.
- when new, your truck would have came with one (fuse) for this purpose, along with a controller wire harness and a 7-4 prong adapter under your rear seat or in the glove box.

Hope this helps- any gm specific ? Just holler @me, I'm a current tech
__________________
MillerTime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 09:39 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 61
In the fuse box located under the hood, there are two max fuse locations labeled for trailers. One has a fuse, the other does not. The one without the fuse is labeled trailer harness. It is in the slot 1 position in the fuse box. I will put a fuse in it and hope that it is as simple as that.
__________________
Dvigna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 10:06 PM   #5
Oklahoma Proud
 
MillerTime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: central OK
Posts: 2,774
Yes trailer fuse goes in stud 1 and is 40amp.
Here is a pic of location( pointed with marker) and what a tag on a factory harness I had laying around states about installation.


Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20130528_210513.jpg
Views:	86
Size:	29.2 KB
ID:	31610


Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20130528_210554.jpg
Views:	86
Size:	29.4 KB
ID:	31611
__________________
MillerTime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2013, 10:15 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 61
After installing the fuse, I now have power on the top right pin on the junction box by the pedals. When I plug the adaptor and brake controller in, the brake controller will not power on.
__________________

__________________
Dvigna is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:29 AM.