Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-07-2014, 08:01 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 89
Brake Controller

Good morning. When your tow vehicle have a built in break controller, do I still need my 6 year old Tekonsha. I just bought a 2014 Ram 2500 SLT HD Crew Cab and pick it up tonoght. Comes with a break controller on the dash. Do I still need to take the one out of my old truck and intall in new or does the new one do it all ?

Mike - Ottawa Canada
__________________

__________________
Mike - Ottawa
'10 Rockwood 8280ws
2014 Ram 2500 SLT HD Crew Cab 4X4 3.73
Mike101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2014, 08:42 AM   #2
Boondocking Only
 
ddbck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 268
The factory one is all you need. Check to make sure the required fuses are in the fuse box/panel. Not sure about Ram, but Ford's brake controllers are far better then the 3 aftermarket controllers I have used. All of which were brand name controllers.
__________________

__________________
2014 Shamrock/Roo 21SSL
Complete LED Lighting
Off Road Package
2010 F250 Lariat 6.8 V-10
Custom Tunes by 5 Star Tuning
Boondocking Only
ddbck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2014, 05:18 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 32
All of your brake controller info should be displayed on your EVIC if you have the 7" TFT screen in between your speedometer and tachometer on your SLT.
__________________
The Crow 1994 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2014, 06:50 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 89
I have the screen. will get hitch installed in new truck next week in time for long weekend camping. Thanks. I will review the owners manual for more info.
__________________
Mike - Ottawa
'10 Rockwood 8280ws
2014 Ram 2500 SLT HD Crew Cab 4X4 3.73
Mike101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2014, 08:15 PM   #5
Member
 
jjgabe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 65
I have a 13 Ram 2500. The brake controller works great.
__________________
jjgabe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2014, 10:00 AM   #6
Engineer of Crazy Train
 
ChooChooMan74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Tiverton, RI
Posts: 1,559
Please don't break your brake controller!

Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Note 2 using the FRF mobile app.
__________________
TV - 2015 Ram Truck EcoDiesel
TV - 2006 Jeep Liberty Turbo Diesel (Retired to Daily Driver)
TT - 2015 Rockwood Roo 183
Locomotive Engineer
Nights Camping --- 2015 - 19 Camped | Winterized -- 2014 -18
Come read my Camping Blogs
ChooChooMan74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2014, 11:08 AM   #7
Junior Member
 
Tigger4725's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3
I have a 2013 Ram with the built in brake control, I have had many aftermarket controlers over the years but this one in the Ram is the best yet.
__________________
Tigger4725 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2014, 02:22 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 292
I'm pretty sure any built in factory brake controller will be better than adding an aftermarket one. The factory one will work in sync with your vehicle including braking, anti-sway, etc.

Sell the aftermarket one.
__________________

__________________

2011 F150 SuperCrew 5.0 4x4
2012 Flagstaff 27BESS
pappcam is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
brake control, controller, brakes

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:04 AM.