Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-07-2016, 07:44 PM   #1

Brought home my new travel trailer and I never felt so scared!

Hi all,
Today I picked up my newly purchased 2013 PrimeTime Avenger 26ft travel trailer . It felt great on the main roads, but once I got on the highway, it was terrifying for me. I felt at times the the steering was loose, drifting of the tow vehicle... hard to explain, but I felt at times it was hard to control, and my speed limit was only 50mph. It has a WDH and a say bar. Trailer is 4800lbs and tongue 500. My sister told me that maybe I needed to adjust the chain on the WDH, she suggested I take if up one more link to make tighter, which would put more weight on my front vehicle axle. I'm new at this. I have watched a lot of videos and did a lot of research...but I'm lost here. Thank you for any suggestions.
DebMar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2016, 07:53 PM   #2

Tell us what your tow vehicle is and what brand of WDH. I'm sure we can help.

2016 F250 2WD CC SB XLT 6.2 3,295 lb payload cap.
2014 Salem Hemisphere 282RK 8k lbs loaded, Equal-i-zer WDH, TST 507 TPMS
2021: 35 nights already booked so far
Teamfour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2016, 07:54 PM   #3

Send a message via AIM to B and B
What type of tow vehicle do you have DebMar?
2015 Heartland Bighorn 5th Wheel
2013 FR Rockwood 8289WS 5th Wheel
2012 FR Rockwood 2703 SS Travel Trailer
B and B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2016, 07:55 PM   #4

The WDH is a Pro Series, and I am towing with a 2015 Dodge Durango with tow package. Thanks
Old 04-07-2016, 08:15 PM   #5

While you get help with the WD hitch also be aware tire pressure and tire type is important. Are your tire pressures at the proper level?

2013:31 / 2014:51 / 2015:58 / 2016:37 / 2017:46
2018:16
Total 239
Evereddie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2016, 08:18 PM   #6