Old 01-22-2015, 11:18 AM   #1

Class C Towing capacity wars

Previously I shied away from the van based Class C's because they ALL had 5,000lb towing capacity and given the vehicle that I would be towing, I wanted more capacity in order to tow safely.

Now I see manufacturers Claiming 7,000 and 8,000lb towing capabilities on the E450 based Class C's. This made me sit up straight in my chair as I could get a smaller less expensive Class C and safely tow my family hauler(need seating for 6). However I too work for a manufacturer and well lets hust say the marketing departments sometimes get ahead of themselves and the sales guys view that as gospel and shout it from the rooftops.

Because the hitch may be rated at a cetain rate does not mean it is always a great idea to tow that weight.

As I am new to this, and there are several experts here, How can we determine the safer towing capacity? Myself I want to know numbers for the Forester 3171DSf.

https://www.fleet.ford.com/resources...2014_LoRes.pdf

This says See manufacturer, but the page before it claims up to 7500lb.

Old 01-22-2015, 03:03 PM   #2

X2 but for Sunseeker3170DS. I just bought an old Suzuki Samurai to tow 4down. Weighs about 2000 ins, but I remember someone posting about rear axel weight being a problem with this model. Any thoughts?

Yorkranchgalnguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2015, 03:04 PM   #3

2000 lbs!
Yorkranchgalnguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2015, 05:37 PM   #4

We normally tow our Focus (3,990 GAWR), but have towed our Jeep (6,800 GAWR) without any issues. Obviously prefer the lighter -- especially in the mountains.
Old 01-23-2015, 08:06 AM   #5