Old 10-25-2012, 03:48 PM   #1
Concerns about Safe Towing

I am new to the TT world and have been reading forums to learn all I can about possible issues. I have 2012 Wildwood 26BHXLT that I currently tow with a 2005 Ford Explorer w/tow package. My concern is in regard to a few post responses I have seen stating that it is dangerous to tow a long trailer with a Midsize SUV. My TT is 27 1/2 feet long and my Explorer has a 113 inch wheelbase. I have a good quality WTH, anti-sway controller, and a properly calibrated break controller installed. I realize that the Explorer is not the ideal tow vehicle for a longer trailer and that I am very close to my maximum tow capacity and that prolonged towing is not the healthiest thing for the Explorer.
I am wondering why it would be “dangerous’ to tow a 28 ft trailer with a midsize SUV as long as it is not overweight on the tow capacity. One person actually put it “I would not risk the safety of my family by towing a 28ft trailer with a midsize SUV.” We bought this trailer to enjoy camping with our two young children and after reading a few of these comments I am questioning the Explorer’s ability to be a safe tow vehicle.
I am not planning on towing my trailer on long trips (over 100 miles) until I can trade it in on a more suitable vehicle (either F-150 or Dodge Ram 1500), but that is a year or so down the road. Any words of wisdom would be appreciated

mewildman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 04:05 PM   #2
Remember that you are reading someone's opinion and that may not be asked on anything other than opinion, look at what other people are using around the campgrounds you go to. You could have the best setup possible and there would always be someone who thought it would be better some other way.

"Well that didn't go as expected"
2015 Chev 2500HD Highcountry Duramax
Cedar Creek Silverback 33IK
Donald&Casey cairn terrier
Rest in Peace Mary my darling wife.
Scottish by birth Canadian by time.