Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-27-2014, 05:27 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 122
Confused on Prodigy Brake for Tahoe?

I am a little confused on which Prodigy Brake I should get for our 2008 Chevy Tahoe. Is there just the Prodigy 2 and Prodigy 3? Also will I need a adapter for it?
__________________

__________________
Sheripoms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2014, 05:34 PM   #2
Member
 
keith4216's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Abingdon, MD
Posts: 38
I personnaly like the p3 but there is also a p2.
It will install same as this,
__________________

__________________
keith4216 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2014, 06:13 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 6,721
I have the P-3 and it works great. Here's some info on installation at etrailer.com:

Installing an Electric Brake Controller on a 2007-2011 GM Full Size Truck or SUV | etrailer.com

This doc says 2007-2011 Chevy's don't have the pre-wired plug on your wiring harness or electrical box (look up 3025-P and 3026-P custom wiring harnesses at etrailer and you'll see pics of these). However, both my 2009 Silverado and my 2011 Traverse had the plug, so I don't know where this info is coming from. Crawl underneath the dash and take a look around. Maybe you'll get lucky.
__________________
1988 Coleman Sequoia - popup (1987-2009) - outlasted 3 Dodge Grand Caravans!
2012 Roo19 - hybrid (2012-2015)

2016 Mini Lite 2503S - tt (2015 - ???)
2011 Traverse LT, 3.6L, FWD
2009 Silverado 1500 Ext Cab, 5.3L, 4x4, 3.73
2016 Silverado 2500HD Dbl Cab, 6.0L 4x4, 4.10
rockfordroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2014, 06:38 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 122
Nope , no plug. Just a bunch of open end wires. UGhh
__________________
Sheripoms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2014, 07:08 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 6,721
Quote:
Nope , no plug. Just a bunch of open end wires. UGhh
Too bad. Then all you need to order is the controller. It will come with a harness with 5 wires. You just hook them to the Tahoe's wiring with the included butt connectors. Not as easy as plug and play, but still not difficult. You'll also have to do the fuse box wiring thing. I still had to do that on my Silverado. Traverse was worse - needed a whole new fuse box - $128!!
__________________
1988 Coleman Sequoia - popup (1987-2009) - outlasted 3 Dodge Grand Caravans!
2012 Roo19 - hybrid (2012-2015)

2016 Mini Lite 2503S - tt (2015 - ???)
2011 Traverse LT, 3.6L, FWD
2009 Silverado 1500 Ext Cab, 5.3L, 4x4, 3.73
2016 Silverado 2500HD Dbl Cab, 6.0L 4x4, 4.10
rockfordroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2014, 07:30 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Firefighter969's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Stevensville, MD
Posts: 180
I would go with the P3.
__________________
2000 F250 Superduty CC LB 7.3 4x4
2013 344QB Wildcat
Nights camped 2014 ( 15)
Nights Camped 2015 ( 4 )
Firefighter969 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2014, 08:57 PM   #7
Moderators' Assistant
 
bikendan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Camano Island, Washington
Posts: 13,260
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockfordroo View Post
Too bad. Then all you need to order is the controller. It will come with a harness with 5 wires. You just hook them to the Tahoe's wiring with the included butt connectors. Not as easy as plug and play, but still not difficult. You'll also have to do the fuse box wiring thing. I still had to do that on my Silverado. Traverse was worse - needed a whole new fuse box - $128!!
sheripoms, the '07 and up Tahoes do not come with a plug'n'play harness and neither did my '07 Avalanche.
there's a bundle of wires that should have rubber bands around or zip ties. this is the bundle for the brake controller, IF your Tahoe has the factory tow package.
i did as rockford roo mentioned, i used the OEM wiring harness that came with the Prodigy and spliced it to the bundle of wires.
Tekonsha has a great customer service dept. and will help you with any questions.
there's also a fuse in the engine compartment that needs to be activated to get power to the brake controller, once it's hooked up.
__________________
Dan-Retired Firefighter/EMT
Shawn-Musician/Entrepreneur/Wine Expert
and Zoe the Wonder Dog(R.I.P.)
2016 PrimeTime TracerAIR 255, pushing a 2014 Ford F150 4x4 3.5 Ecoboost w/Max Tow Package
Equalizer WDH and Prodigy BC
bikendan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2014, 08:59 PM   #8
Member
 
lil2low's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Mission BC
Posts: 46
P3 is the way to go!
__________________
lil2low is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2014, 11:01 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 122
I have me a P3 on order!
__________________

__________________
Sheripoms is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fuse, brakes

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:50 AM.