Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-26-2016, 08:27 PM   #1

Curt, Reese or B&W Fifth Wheel Hitches??

I have been pulling 5th wheels for about 15 years with the same old Reese hitch that came with the first one I bought. I am wanting to upgrade a little, this one is getting difficult to disconnect...especially if a little bit un-level.

I was just wanting some feedback on some of the hitches out there today.

I am pulling (ok...hadn't made 1st trip yet!) a 2016 Sierra 41' 355RE with a 2003 Chevy 2500HD, a Duramax and 6.5' bed.

I am leaning toward the B&W Patriot (RV Dealer recommended), but recently have been seeing info. on the Curt line of hitches.

I also have heard some negatives on the slider hitches, even though I have the short bed.

Thanks for the input and have a great evening!

TedT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2016, 08:38 PM   #2
Left Coast

Send a message via Yahoo to bob caldwell
Take a look at the Pullright Superglide...
bob caldwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2016, 08:39 PM   #3

IMO a short bed needs a slider, and here's why. I have Curt Q5 20K slider and pulled a Crossroads Cruiser and a FR Sandpiper for 4 years and never used it. Traded for a different brand and first time out crunched the driver's side of the cab backing into a site. At some point you may have other campers that don't have the turn radius of your current rig.
Sirsea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2016, 08:42 PM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob caldwell View Post
Take a look at the Pullright Superglide...

Is that one difficult to hook up? Not that I can't line up, just something I heard from talking around. One man's opinion (and maybe he couldn't line up his rig with the hitch!!!)

Thanks!
Old 04-26-2016, 08:55 PM   #5
Left Coast

Just need to be fairly straight

Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk
Old 04-26-2016, 08:57 PM   #6

Thanks Bob!