Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-08-2016, 04:58 PM   #11
Fulltime family RVer
 
ependydad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 14,770
btw, thanks for asking this. I'd like to install a dash cam myself.
__________________

__________________
ependydad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2016, 09:58 PM   #12
Usually Confused Member
 
emm-dee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Georgia
Posts: 1,610
Quote:
Originally Posted by ependydad View Post
btw, thanks for asking this. I'd like to install a dash cam myself.
Here's a pix of my dash cam install in the Ram. Wires are completely hidden until they come out of the headliner to attach to the cam. The cam is mounted slightly right of and in front of the rear view mirror (to comply with a strong "suggestion" by a highway patrol officer who said mounting it within the line of sight of the driver is not acceptable. Where it's located now means I can't even see it while driving.

__________________

__________________
At some point during every day you suddenly realize nothing else productive is going to happen the rest of that day. For me, it usually occurs around 9 am.

Vengeance 25V (the Harley needed a home)
emm-dee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2016, 10:26 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Kenny kustom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 3,340
That's where I plan to put mine.
I had it down low on the Ford, annoyed me more than anything, seeing the screen.


2016 Sabre 36QBOK
2015 Ram 3500 CUMMINS
__________________
2017 Dynamax Isata 4
Kenny kustom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2016, 06:58 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
Todouble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 849
So I gotta ask? What's the purpose of having these dash cams?
__________________
Todouble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2016, 08:03 AM   #15
Senior Member
 
Kenny kustom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 3,340
Quote:
Originally Posted by Todouble View Post
So I gotta ask? What's the purpose of having these dash cams?

Idiots.....

Also, when you film said idiots, you put it on YouTube!


2016 Sabre 36QBOK
2015 Ram 3500 CUMMINS
__________________
2017 Dynamax Isata 4
Kenny kustom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2016, 09:59 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
Todouble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 849
Gotcha! That's what I thought but was thinking there was another reason.
__________________
Todouble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2016, 11:14 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
Jim34RL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Oswego il
Posts: 1,194
Quote:
Originally Posted by Red Wolf View Post
Unfortunately, the fuses are in the engine compartment next to the driver side battery in the new rigs. I was going to do this, until I found the fuses were no longer by the driver's door!


Sent from my iPad using Forest River Forums

-Red

Big Bad Wolf - '02 Dodge Ram 2500HD 5.9 CTD / Prodigy / Putnam Class V / Reese 15k Pro
Wolf Den 3 - '14 Rockwood Signature Ultra Light 8280WS
Since you are a member of TDR contact Geno's Garage for help on your wiring issues. I do not know about the fourth gens that much and the use of the BCM ( Body Control Module ) on the truck now. But on the Third Gen trucks with the TIPM (Total Integrated Power Module) it was very easy to destroy the TIPM by adding additional electrical components to the vehicle. Replacement cost for the TIPM the last I check are will north of $700 + labor.

For less than $80.00 you can save a very expensive trip to the dealer for a replacement of the BCM, if this is like the old TIPM on the third gen trucks.

Just my advice.
__________________
Jim W.
2016 34RL CC; 2008 Ram Mega Cab 2500HD, 6.7L, 68RFE 6 speed, 4X4, Smarty S67, TDR 112K+miles
Jim34RL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2016, 11:24 AM   #18
Senior Member
 
Kenny kustom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 3,340
For free, you can tap into the power point.

For anything other than a camera or tpms monitor power, I would run a dedicated fuse box.
But, those two draw so, so little.


2016 Sabre 36QBOK
2015 Ram 3500 CUMMINS
__________________
2017 Dynamax Isata 4
Kenny kustom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2016, 11:52 AM   #19
Senior Member
 
Jim34RL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Oswego il
Posts: 1,194
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenny kustom View Post
For free, you can tap into the power point.

For anything other than a camera or tpms monitor power, I would run a dedicated fuse box.
But, those two draw so, so little.


2016 Sabre 36QBOK
2015 Ram 3500 CUMMINS
Kenny, I know of guys who have replaced their third brake light with LED's lights and burn out the TIPM. They have also used RECON HID lights and have had issues to.

The Ram uses a CANBUS system and several components are communicating within the same wiring circuit. As small as a .5 Volt difference will cause an issue some times. The TIPM on the third gens is the central module that gets feed back from the components and if the voltage is incorrect it will trip. After tripping and being reset for three times it goes by, by and you need to buy a new one. The TIPM will automatically reset so by time you catch the issue you are buying a new one.

Just saying
__________________
Jim W.
2016 34RL CC; 2008 Ram Mega Cab 2500HD, 6.7L, 68RFE 6 speed, 4X4, Smarty S67, TDR 112K+miles
Jim34RL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2016, 12:24 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
Kenny kustom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 3,340
Dedicated accessory power in a '15 RAM 2500?

Ok, but changing a lamp on the can bus will cause problems.

What's the purpose of a power point?
To supply current up to the fuses capacity.
No different hard wiring the camera, or plugging it into the socket.

Lamp replacement and tapping into the power point, completely different.


2016 Sabre 36QBOK
2015 Ram 3500 CUMMINS
__________________

__________________
2017 Dynamax Isata 4
Kenny kustom is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
500, cat, power

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:27 AM.